You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 01:42:32 Sep 09, 2016, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
National Commissions: UNESCO
English Français

Europe and North America

The Danish National Commission for UNESCO
General Information
English NameDanish National Commission for UNESCO

Ministry of Education
Department of Primary and Lower Secondary School and International Affairs
Frederiksholms Kanal 26
1220 Copenhagen K

Phone+45 3392 5000
Fax+45 3392 5492
E-mailunesco@uvm.dk; linda.nielsen@jur.ku.dk (Pt); Irene.holse@uvm.dk; Christina.Barfoed-Hoj@uvm.dk
National Commissions Web site on unesco.orghttp://www.unesco.dk
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameMs. Linda Nielsen
StartedJuly 2007

NameMr Jens Dalsgaard
StartedFebruary 2014

Date and Method of CreationJuly 1947
StatusGovernmental (1 Ministry)
Legislation DatesThe judicial text was accepted01/07/1947 and last revised 01/07/1998
LegislationThe Statutes of the Commission, which exist in Danish only, were approved by the Minister for Education in 1998. In Denmark the Minister for Education is the minister responsible for UNESCO.

Documentation CentreThe homepage of the Danish National Commission is: www.unesco.dk, and can also be reached via the website of the Danish Ministry of Education. This website contains links to UNESCO's website.
Structure of the Commission- The National Commission consists of the following bodies:
- The General Assembly;
- The Executive Committee;
There are four Sub-Committees to the National Commission on: Education, Science, Culture and Communication.

Members/CompositionThere are up to 19 members of the National Commission who are nominated for a four year period by the Minister for Education on the proposal of the Commission. The members represent the fields of: Education, Science, Culture and Communication - up to seven of them being appointed in their personal capacity. Up to six of the members represent different ministries: (Foreign Affairs, Education, Culture, Environment, Research, and the Greenland Home Rule Government). One member represents the Danish Youth Council.
Executive CommitteeThe Executive Committee consists of the Chair and the Vice-Chair of the National Commission, one representative of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and the four Chairs of the Sub-Committees.
General AssemblyThe National Commission meets in plenary at least four times a year.
Committees or Sub-CommitteesThe Commission has four Sub-Committees within the following areas: Education, Science, Culture and Communication. The members are proposed by the Chairs of the Sub-Committees and are then appointed by the National Commission. The Chair of each Sub-Committee is proposed from among the members of the National Commission and is subsequently appointed by the Minister for Education.

Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewThe Danish National Commission co-operates with the European National Commissions and maintains quasi statutory working relations with the Nordic Commissions (Iceland, Finland, Norway and Sweden). There is no interaction with Field Offices on a regular basis.

PeriodicityAnnual ?