You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 19:38:38 Sep 09, 2016, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
National Commissions: UNESCO
English Français


Ghana National Commission for UNESCO
General Information
English NameGhana National Commission for UNESCO
French NameCommission nationale du Ghana pour l'UNESCO

Ministry of Education
P.O. Box 2739

Phone233 302 662 772 (Chairperson)
233 302 666 070 (Vice Chairperson)
Fax233 302 664 067 (Chairperson)
233 302 679 353 (Vice Chairperson)
E-maildiasporagh@gmail.com; enoch_cobbinah@yahoo.com; r.wellington@unescoghana.org; info@unescoghana.org
National Commissions Web site on unesco.orghttp://unescoghana.org/
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameProf. Naana Jane Opoku-Agyemang*
StartedApril 2013
Type of Appointment*ex officio
Government PostMinister of Education

NameMr Enoch H. Cobbinah
TitleChief Director and Vice Chairperson
StartedApril 2013

NameMr Riche-Mike Wellington
StartedDecember 2014

Date and Method of CreationDecember 1953 as a Governmental body
Department attached tounder the supervision of the Ministry of Education, Science and Sports
Legislation DatesThe judicial text was accepted25/02/1964 and last revised
LegislationThe National Commision has a Constitution, which dates back to 1964.
Documentation CentreThe National Commission has an official documentation centre being run in co-operation with the Ministry of Education, Science and Sports.
Structure of the CommissionThe National Commission consists of the following bodies:
- The Executive Committee
- The General Assembly, which meets twice a year;
- Six Specialized Committees ;
- The Secretariat.
Members/CompositionThe National Commission comprises 35 members representing governmental departments and ministries, national institutions and Non-Governemental Organizations specialized in UNESCO's fields of competence. The Commission meets in Plenary twice a year.
Executive CommitteeComposed of the Chairperson, the Deputy Chairperson, the Secretary of the Committee, the Chairpersons of Specialized Committees; and Ghana’s Member/Immediate Outgoing Member of UNESCO Executive Board. The Executive Committee meets quarterly.
General AssemblyComposed of 35 members representing the relevant ministries (Ministry of Education, Science and Sports; Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Ministry of Justice; Ministry of Finance and Economic Planning; Ministry of Tourism and Diaspora Relations; Ministry of Manpower, Youth and Employment; Ministry of Food and Agriculture; Ministry of Communication), educational, scientific and cultural institutions,
professional associations and NGOs, appointed for a three-year term and eligible for reappointment. The General Assembly meets twice a year.
Committees or Sub-CommitteesThe National Commission has 6 specialised committees: 1) Education , 2) Natural Sciences, 3) Social and Human Sciences, 4) Culture. 5) Communication and Information, and 6) General Programme Matters.
Committees/Sub-Committees Details
Number of Committees or Sub-Committees6
PeriodicityEach committee meets at least twice a year
Sub-committee Topics[X] Education
[X] Science
[X] Social Sciences
[X] Culture
[X] Communication
[X] Other
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewThe National Commission co-operates with a number of National Commissions in Africa as well as with the Nigeria, Yaoundé and Dakar Field Offices.