You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 20:01:56 Sep 09, 2016, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
National Commissions: UNESCO
English Français

Europe and North America

Hungarian National Commission for UNESCO
General Information
English NameHungarian National Commission for UNESCO

Ministry of Human Capacities
Báthory utca 10.
H-1054 Budapest

Phone+ 36 1 795 4691; + 36 1 795 47 09
Fax+36 1 795 02 55
E-mailinfo@unesco.hu; gabor.soos@unesco.hu
National Commissions Web site on unesco.orghttp://www.unesco.hu
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameDr Miklós Réthelyi
StartedJune 2012

NameDr Gábor Soós
StartedApril 2016

Date and Method of Creation1948
StatusGovernmental (1 Ministry)
Department attached toMinistry of Human Resources
Legislation DatesThe judicial text was accepted01/01/1948 and last revised
LegislationThe Hungarian National Commission for UNESCO was officially established in 1948 and legally re-organized in 2012.
Documentation CentreThe Documentation centre holds approximately 3000 publications
Structure of the CommissionThe National Commission consists of the following bodies:
- The General Assembly;
- The Executive Committee;
- Five Sub-Committees
- The Secretariat.
Members/CompositionThe National Commission is composed of 76 members.
Executive CommitteeComposed of 7 members, including the Chairperson, the Chairpersons of the Programme Committees, and the Secretary-General. The Executive Committee meets twice a year.
General AssemblyComposed of 76 members, representing various Ministries, governmental and non-governmental organizations, and Hungarian educational, scientific, cultural and communication communities. The General Assembly meets once a year.
Committees or Sub-CommitteesFive Programme Committees corresponding to the major programme areas of UNESCO, namely : (1) Education; (2) Natural Sciences; (3) Social Sciences; (4) Culture and (5) Communication-Information. Each Sub-Committee comprises some 15 to 20 members who meet 3 to 4 times a year;
Committees/Sub-Committees Details
Number of Committees or Sub-Committees5
Periodicity3 to 4 times a year
Sub-committee Topics[X] Education
[X] Science
[X] Social Sciences
[X] Culture
[X] Communication
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewThe National Commission carries out joint projects with a number of other National Commissions of the Europe Region, especially with the National Commissions of Central and Eastern Europe.