You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 20:06:30 Sep 09, 2016, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
National Commissions: UNESCO
English Français

Europe and North America

Icelandic National Commission for UNESCO
General Information
English NameIcelandic National Commission for UNESCO

Ministry of Education, Science and Culture
Sölvhólsgata 4
IS - 150 Reykjavík

Phone(354) 545 95 00
Fax(354) 562 30 68
E-mailpostur@mrn.is; postur@mrn.stjr.is; aslaug.dora.eyjolfsdottir@mrn.is (SG)
National Commissions Web site on unesco.orghttp://www.unesco.is
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameMr Gunnar Haraldsson
Election Date
Mandated duration31.12.2018
StartedJanuary 2015

NameMs Áslaug Dóra Eyjólfsdóttir
StartedMay 2012
Government PostOther

NameMs Marta Jónsdóttir
TitleRepresentative for the Ministry for Foreign Affairs
StartedJanuary 2015

NameMs Áslaug Fridriksdottir
TitleRepresentative for Culture
StartedJanuary 2015

NameMr Magnus Juliusson
TitleRepresentative for youth matters
StartedJanuary 2015

NameMs Arna Schram
TitleRepresentative for communication and information
StartedJanuary 2015

NameMr Ólafur Sigurðsson
TitleHead of division, representative for education
StartedJuly 2013

Date and Method of CreationJune 1964
StatusGovernmental (1 Ministry)
Legislation DatesThe judicial text was accepted23/05/1978 and last revised 03/10/1997
LegislationThe Regulations of the National Commission were set by the Minister of Education, Science and Culture, on which it depends.
Documentation CentreThe Commission has not settled any documentation centre since all publications are stored in the library of the Ministry of Education, Culture and Science.
Structure of the CommissionThe National Commission, which has no Executive Committee nor Sub-Committees, meets in plenary 6-8 times a year.
Members/CompositionThe Chairman, the Secretary-General and four more members are appointed without nomination. One shall be an expert on education, one in science, one on culture, one on communication and information and one on youth affairs. One commission member is appointed by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Each member has gathered together a small group of people within his or her field of competence to use as a sparring partner.
Executive CommitteeThe Commission has no Executive Committee
General AssemblyThe National Commission has no General Assembly. It has one Commission which meets once a month except during the summer (see regulations sent to BRX/NAC - 1999)
Committees or Sub-CommitteesThe National Commission has no sub-Committees.
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewThe Icelandic Commission co-operates with other European National Commissions, especially the Nordic National Commissions, but has no relations with the UNESCO Field Offices.