You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 23:14:56 Sep 09, 2016, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
National Commissions: UNESCO
English Français

Europe and North America

Lithuanian National Commission for UNESCO
General Information
English NameLithuanian National Commission for UNESCO
French NameCommission nationale lituanienne pour l'UNESCO

Svento Jono g. 11
LT - 01123 Vilnius

Phone(370 5) 210 73 40
Fax(370 5) 210 73 43
E-maillietuva@unesco.lt; asta.juneviciene@unesco.lt
National Commissions Web site on unesco.orghttp://www.unesco.lt
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameMr Romas Pakalnis
Election DateFebruary 2009
Mandated duration
StartedFebruary 2009
Government PostOther

NameMs Asta Junevičiené
StartedAugust 2015

Date and Method of CreationFebruary 1992
Legislation DatesThe judicial text was accepted20/10/1992 and last revised 14/04/1998
LegislationThe Statute of the National Commission date back to 1992. The Statute of the National Commission was updated by the Government of the Republic of Lithuania in 2003.
Documentation CentreThe Documentation Centre, which is administered by a professional librarian, approximately holds 2500 publications. Many of these are UNESCO publications, but the Centre also holds encyclopaedias, dictionnaries, reference books, etc. Over 1000 persons visit the Centre each year (students, academics, journalists and the public at large).
Structure of the CommissionThe National Commission consists of the following bodies:
- The General Assembly, which meets once a year;
- The Executive Committee (composed of 7 members: the Chairperson of the Commission, Chairs of the Special Committees and the Secretary-General);
- The Special Committees (5 committees composed of professionals working in UNESCO's field of competence);
- The Secretariat.
Members/CompositionAs a governmental body, the National Commission is composed of some 25 members representing different Ministries, national organizations and academic institutions, NGOs, parliamentarians and the media.
Executive CommitteeThe Executive Committee consists of the Chairperson of the National Commission, the Chairs of the special Committees and the Secretary-General.
General AssemblyThe General Assembly is held once a year.
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewThe Lithuanian Commission collaborates closely with the Baltic States' National Commissions for UNESCO, but also co-operates with the National Commissions of Caucasus, Scandinavian countries, Poland in the field of bioethics, cultural dialogue, ASPnet partnership, etc.There is as well close collaboration with World Heritage Centre.
International Conference Cultural Pluralism and Culture of Peace/ Tarptautinė konferencija Kultūrinis pliuralizmas ir taikos kultūra
Date 1998
FinancingLithuanian National Commission for UNECO
DistributionUniversities, public and non-governmental organizations, visitors concerned