You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 01:31:40 Sep 10, 2016, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
National Commissions: UNESCO
English Français

Asia and the Pacific

Nauru National Commission for UNESCO
General Information
English NameNauru National Commission for UNESCO
French NameCommission nationale de Nauru pour l'UNESCO

c/-Secretary for Education's Office
Government Buildings
Yaren District
Republic of Nauru

Phone(674) 55 79 281
E-mailCharmainescotty@gmail.com; lteleni@gmail.com
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameHonourable Charmaine Scotty, M.P.
StartedSeptember 2014
Government PostMinister of Education

NameMrs Jerielyn Teleni
StartedFebruary 2011

Date and Method of CreationFebruary 1998
StatusGovernmental (1 Ministry)
LegislationThe National Commission does not have any legal instrument such as a Constitution.
Documentation CentreThe National Commission has not settled any Documentation Centre.
Members/CompositionThe Executive Committee of the Commission (8 members) meets once a month. The members represent UNESCO's fields of competence.
The term of office for the Secretary-General and members of the Commission is of two years to allow continuity and to reflect the work programme time frame of UNESCO which is that of a biennial.
Executive CommitteeThe Executive Committee has eight members who meet once a month.
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewThe National Commission collaborates with the UNESCO Offices in Apia and Bangkok.