You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 03:34:16 Sep 10, 2016, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
National Commissions: UNESCO
English Français

Asia and the Pacific

UNESCO National Commission of the Philippines
General Information
English NameUNESCO National Commission of the Philippines

G/F Department of Foreign Affairs Bldg.
2330 Roxaz Boulevard
Pasay City

Phone(63-2) 834 3447;
(63-2) 834 4818;
(63-2) 834 4844
Fax(63-2) 831 8873
E-mailsecretariat@unesconatcom.gov.ph ; secretariat@unesco.gov.ph
National Commissions Web site on unesco.orgwww.unesconatcom.gov.ph
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NamePerfecto R. Yasay Jr
TitleSecretary of Foreign Affairs, Chairperson of UNACOM
Election Date1/8/2016
Mandated duration
StartedAugust 2016
Government PostOther

NameLindsay A. Barrientos
TitleDeputy Executive Director , Officer-in-Charge of UNACOM
Election Date1/8/2016
Mandated duration
StartedAugust 2016

Date and Method of CreationJune 1947
StatusGovernmental (1 Ministry)
Department attached toDepartment of Foreign Affairs
LegislationRepublic Act 621 (amended by Republic Act 892 and 3849) created the UNESCO National Commission of the Philippines
Documentation CentreThe National Commission has a Documentation Centre which is located in the building of the Department of Foreign Affairs.
Structure of the Commission- The Executive Committee
- The General Assembly
- 5 Programme Committees
- The Secretariat
Members/CompositionThe Commission is composed of 45 members representing UNESCO's fields of competence.
Executive CommitteeHeaded by the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Commission with 9 elected members representing the five areas of UNESCO competence. The Executive Committee meets quarterly.
General AssemblyComposed of 45 members appointed by the President of the Republic of the Philippines. Two of them are ex-officio members representing the two chambers of the Parliament (one from the Senate and one from the House of Representatives) chairing the Education Committees in the respective houses. The General Assembly meets twice a year.
Committees or Sub-CommitteesThe Commission has five Programme Committees: 1) Education; 2) Science and Technology; 3) Culture; 4) Social and Human Sciences; 5) Communication
Committees/Sub-Committees Details
PeriodicityEach committee meets quarterly
Sub-committee Topics[X] Education
[X] Science
[X] Social Sciences
[X] Culture
[X] Communication
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewThe National Commission closely cooperates with UNESCO Headquarters, Paris, the UNESCO Regional Offices of Jakarta (Indonesia) and Bangkok (Thailand). It maintains close working relations with Japan, Australia, New Zealand, Viet Nam, Malaysia, South Korea, India and other National Commissions.
UNESCO Philippines Journal
DistributionCommissioners, national and regional partner institutions, academia, NGOs, private sector partners, UNESCO Headquarters and Field Offices