You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 04:25:02 Sep 10, 2016, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
National Commissions: UNESCO
English Français

Asia and the Pacific

Republic of Korea
Korean National Commission for UNESCO
General Information
English NameKorean National Commission for UNESCO (KNCU)

26 Myeongdong-gil (UNESCO road)
Seoul 100-810
Republic of Korea

Phone+82-2-6958-4103 (Office of Secretary-General)
+82-2-6958-4127 (International Relations Team)
Fax+82-2-6958-4258 (Office of Secretary-General)
+82-2-6958-4252 (International Relations Team)
National Commissions Web site on unesco.orghttp://www.eng.unesco.or.kr
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameMr LEE Joon Sik
StartedJanuary 2016

NameMr Dong-seok MIN
StartedOctober 2012

Date and Method of Creation30 January 1954
Department attached tounder the supervision of the Ministry of Education, Science and Technology.
Legislation DatesThe judicial text was accepted30/01/1953 and last revised 06/04/2007
LegislationThe legal status of the National Commission was ensured by Presidential Decree in 1953 and further strengthened by the establishment of the Law Concerning Activities of UNESCO in 1963, which has undergone periodic amendments over the years and full revision in 2007.
Documentation CentreThe Commission makes special efforts to inform a wide-ranging public of the Organization's undertakings and owns one of the richest Documentation Centres totaling some 15 000 monographs and 70 periodicals, which are either published by UNESCO or within UNESCO's fields of competence. More than 2000 visitors consult the Documentation Centre annually.
Structure of the CommissionThe National Commission is composed of the following bodies:
- The General Assembly: composed of 51 members
- The Executive Committee: composed of 19 members
- Five Programme Committees dealing with: (1) Education; (2) Natural Sciences; (3) Social Sciences; (4) Culture; and (5) Information & Communication
- The Secretariat, headed by the Secretary-General, is currently composed of three Divisions (Division of Planning and Management, Division of Programmes, Division of International Relations and Cooperation); two Offices (Office of Auditing and Assessment, Office of Public Relations); one Center (Korea UNESCO Peace Center); and one Institution (Korea UNESCO Institute for Peace and Development).
Members/CompositionThe National Commission is composed of 60 members representing governmental departments and agencies, NGOs, professional associations, institutions, and individuals. Members of the National Commission are appointed for two-year terms (eligible for re-appointment) and meet in Plenary once a year.
Executive CommitteeThe Executive Committee, consisting of 19 members of the National Commission, including the Chairperson, the Vice-Chairpersons and the Secretary-General, meets in regular sessions once every three months and in extra-ordinary sessions when needed.
General AssemblyThe General Assembly is composed of 51 members, representing the governmental agencies organizations and individuals concerned with education, science, culture and communication. Members of the National Commission are appointed for three-year terms and are eligible for re-appointment for one term only.
Committees or Sub-CommitteesThe National Commission consists of five programme sub-committee responsible for education, natural science, social sciences, culture, and communication,respectively. Other special committees are organized when needed.
Committees/Sub-Committees Details
Number of Committees or Sub-Committees5
Sub-committee Topics[X] Education
[X] Science
[X] Social Sciences
[X] Culture
[X] Communication
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewClearly, the Korean National Commission closely cooperates with a number of National Commissions both within and beyond the region.

Initiated at the suggestion of the Republic of Korea and gained the endorsement of the Secretaries-General of the five National Commissions in East Asia (China, the Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Japan, Mongolia and the Republic of Korea), Sub-Regional Meeting of Secretaries-General of National Commissions for UNESCO in East Asia has been annually organised for cooperation among these culturally associated East-Asian neighbours. The aim of this meeting is to strengthen mutual cooperation and to promote joint projects between National Commissions in the region and UNESCO Office Beijing.

The Korean National Commission maintains sound working relations with UNESCO Field Offices in Bangkok (Thailand), Jakarta (Indonesia) and Beijing (China).
BlurbThe UNESCO News is a Korean language monthly newsletter published by the Korean National Commission for UNESCO (KNCU) since 1964. It delivers news of the major activities of KNCU and UNESCO in the fields of education, science, culture, communication and youth. It is currently distributed, free of charge, to more than 3,000 subscribers throughout Korea. An on-line mailing and PDF service for the UNESCO News is also available at the official homepage of KNCU (www.unesco.or.kr).
FinancingBudget of the National Commission
DistributionDomestic libraries, NGOs, mass media organizations, governmental organizations, UNESCO clubs and ASP schools etc.
Plan for 1999 and Report for 1998
Distribution400 copies