You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 06:44:06 Sep 10, 2016, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
National Commissions: UNESCO
English Français


Sierra Leone
Sierra Leone National Commission for UNESCO
General Information
English NameSierra Leone National Commission for UNESCO

A.J. Momoh Street
Sierra Leone

Phone(232-22) 22-30-30
(232) 76 70 98 92 (SG mobile)
Fax(232-22) 22-30-30
E-mailkonnehbis@gmail.com (SG)
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameH.E. Dr. Minkailu Bah *
Election Date13 October 2007
Mandated duration
StartedOctober 2007
Type of Appointment* Ex Officio
Government PostMinister of Education

NameMr B.I.S. Konneh
Election DateJan. 1993
Mandated duration
StartedJanuary 1993
Type of AppointmentAppointed under the Civil Service Act

Date and Method of Creation1971 by a Parliamentary Act
StatusGovernmental (1 Ministry)
LegislationThe National Commission has no legal instrument such as a Constitution.
Documentation CentreThe Documentation Centre, which is administered by a trained documentalist, holds over 10 000 UNESCO and other UN Agencies' publications, as well as reports written by local experts. The Centre is visited by academics, students, journalists and the general public at large.
Structure of the CommissionThe National Commission is composed of the following organs:
- The General Assembly, which meets twice a year;
- The Executive Committee, which meets four times a year;
- One National Committee, which meets every month;
- Four Programme Committees for: education; science; social sciences; culture and communication;
- The Secretariat.
Members/CompositionThe National Commission comprises representatives of Ministries and NGOs related to UNESCO's areas of competence, NGO's, universities and the media.
Executive CommitteeThe Executive Committee meets quarterly while the National Committee meets monthly.
General AssemblyThe General Assembly meets twice a year.
Committees or Sub-CommitteesThere are four programme committees: education, science, culture and communication, and humanities. Represented on these committees are: government ministries, NGOs, universities and the media.
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewThough the National Commission has limited relations with other National Commissions, it tries to maintain regular working relations with the UNESCO Field Office in Dakar.