You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 06:57:40 Sep 10, 2016, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
National Commissions: UNESCO
English Français


South Africa
South African National Commission for UNESCO
General Information
English NameSouth African National Commission for UNESCO
French NameCommission nationale d'Afrique du Sud

222 Struben Street
0001 Pretoria
South Africa

Mail AddressPrivate Bag X895
0001 Pretoria
South Africa
Phone +(27-12) 357 3486 (SG)
Reuben Lefoka (Culture): +(27-12) 357 3477;
Zodwa Tsajwa (Education): +(27-12) 357 3489;
Lefika Chetty (Science and Communication): +(27-12) 357 3496
Fax+(27-12) 323 0388 (SG)
Reuben Lefoka (Culture): +(27-12) 323 2348;
Zodwa Tsajwa (Education): +(27-12) 323 2348;
Lefika Chetty (Science and Communication): +(27-12) 323 2348
E-mailMukwevho.C@dbe.gov.za (SG); Netshituni.t@dbe.gov.za (Culture Sector); Govuza.t@dbe.gov.za
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameMr Yousaf Gabru
StartedOctober 2013

NameProf. S. Makhanya
TitleDeputy Chairperson (acting Chairperson)
Acting as[X]
Election DateApril 2009
Mandated duration
StartedApril 2009

NameMr Carlton Mukwevho
StartedMarch 2013

NameZodwa Tsajwa
TitleContact for Education

NameMr Tshifhiwa Netshituni
TitleProgramme Officer for the Culture Sector
StartedJuly 2013

Date and Method of Creation20 August 1998 by a governmental decision
StatusGovernmental (1 Ministry)
Department attached toDepartment of Education
Legislation DatesThe judicial text was accepted07/08/1996 and last revised
LegislationSince 1995, the National Commission has been a de facto partner of the Organization, as a result of an agreement signed by the Government of South Africa and UNESCO. In 1996, the National Commission adopted a Constitution which, though it is not legally binding, sets out the principles of the Commission. The Commission was officially established in 1998 by a governmental decision, at a cabinet session.
Documentation CentreThere is currectly no documentation centre. However negotiations between the Department of Education and the National Commission has started with the idea of catalogueing UNESCO publications in the Departmentís Resources Centre to enable the public to have greater access to these publications.
Structure of the CommissionThe National Commission consists of the following bodies:
- The General Assembly,
- The Executive Committee,
- Four Programme Committees;
- The Secretariat.

Members also act as sector advisors in the fields of Education, Science, Culture, Communication, Information and Informatics.
Members/CompositionThe National Commission is composed of 16 Members representing various Governmental Departments, Ministries and national institutions specialized in the fields of UNESCO's competence, numerous NGO's, professional associations, individual experts, as well as representatives of the media.
Executive CommitteeComposed of 12 members, representing each UNESCO competency departments and the Chairpersons of the Programme Committees. The Executive committee meets at least twice a year.
General AssemblyComposed of 16 members representing various governmental departments, Ministries and national institutions specialized in the fields of UNESCO competence. Appointed by the Minister of Education for a four-year term. The General Assembly meets in plenary at least twice a year.
Committees or Sub-CommitteesFour Programme Committees: 1) Education; 2) Science; 3) Culture; 4) Communication
Committees/Sub-Committees Details
Number of Committees or Sub-Committees4
Sub-committee Topics[X] Education
[X] Science
[X] Culture
[X] Communication
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewThe South African National Commission collaborates with a number of National Commissions from Sub-Saharan Africa and recently with the German National Commission.
Periodicity3 times a year, in order to coincide with the National Commission meetings.
DistributionAbout 350 copies
Annual report
DistributionThe National Commission produces this report at the national level.