You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 12:25:27 Sep 10, 2016, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
National Commissions: UNESCO
English Français


Zambia National Commission for UNESCO
General Information
English NameZambia National Commission for UNESCO

P.O. Box 50619

Phone(260.211) 254 340
(260-1) 250558
(260-79) 524035
(260-955) 859522 (SG)
Fax(260.211) 254 340;
(260.211) 254 342;
(260.211) 254 138

E-mailnatcomzambia@gmail.com; hmmilumbe@gmail.com; ndakalac@yahoo.com (SG)
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameHon. Dr. John. J. N. Phiri
StartedApril 2016
Government PostMinister of Education

NameDr Charles Ndakala
Acting as[X]
StartedMay 2015

Date and Method of CreationAugust 1966 by an Act of Parliament
Legislation DatesThe judicial text was accepted26/08/1966 and last revised
Legislation"The Charter 139 of the Laws of Zambia" of 1966 is the Commission's legal instrument.
Documentation CentreThe Documentation Centre, which has been re-opened by the end of 1999, holds UNESCO and other National and International Institutions' publications. It is administered by a documentalist and welcomes visitors who generally look for sponsorship and information on the National Commission.

The Commission feels that more needs to be done in the advertising of the documentation centre so that more people can utilise it.
Structure of the CommissionThe National Commission is structured as follow:
- The Executive Committee (22 members), which meets at least once a year;
- The Sub-Committees, which are formed according to UNESCO's fields of competence and meet when required;
- The Secretariat.
Members/CompositionThe National Commission comprises 22 members representing the Ministries involved in UNESCO's areas of competence; National Scientific and Environmental Institutions; the National Heritage and Conservation Commission; the University of Zambia and the NGOs Coordinating Committee.
Executive CommitteeThe Commission has an Executive Committee consisting of 22 members. They meet at least once a year.
Committees or Sub-CommitteesThe sub-committees of the Commission are formed according to UNESCO's fields of competence. They meet whenever there is a task to be performed and depending on how often individual programme officers would like to meet their members.

These sub-committees represent the Ministry of Education, the National Heritage and Conservation Commission, the University of Zambia, the National Council for Scientific Research, the Environmental Council of Zambia, the Ministry of Finance and Economic Development, the Ministry of Foreign Affai'rs, the Ministry of Sport, Youth and Child Development, the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting Services, the Ministry of Community Development and Social Servies, the NGOs Coordinating Committee,and the Ministry of Science Technology and Vocational Training.
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewThe Zambia National Commission co-operates with the National Commissions of the Southern African Development Community (SADC).