You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 22:28:09 Sep 10, 2016, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
National Commissions: UNESCO
English Français

Europe and North America

National Commission of Ukraine for UNESCO
General Information
English NameNational Commission of Ukraine for UNESCO
French NameCommission nationale ukrainienne pour l'UNESCO

Ministry of Foreign Affairs
1, Mykhailivska Square
UA - 01018 Kyiv

Phone(380.44) 238 16 91;
(380.44) 238 15 37
Fax(380.44) 238 18 36
E-mailuoon@mfa.gov.ua; unesco@mfa.gov.ua; oleksandr.demianiuk@mfa.gov.ua; anton.barabulia@mfa.gov.ua
National Commissions Web site on unesco.orghttp://unesco.org.ua/
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameMr Serguiy Kyslytsya
StartedJanuary 2015
Government PostOther

NameMr Volodymyr Yatsenkivskyi
TitleVice President
StartedJune 2011

NameMs Roksolana Ivanchenko
StartedJune 2011

Date and Method of CreationJuly 1956
Legislation DatesThe judicial text was accepted26/03/1996 and last revised
LegislationThe National Commission has a Constitution dating back to 1996.
Created in 1956 as the interministerial Commission of the Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic for UNESCO, the Commission was restructured in November 1995, by decree of the President of Ukraine, as the National Commission of Ukraine for UNESCO.
Documentation CentreThe Commission has its own Information and Documentation Centre which holds some 2000 publications. The National Commission has recently set up its own Website.
Structure of the CommissionThe National Commission meets in plenary four times a year. It consists of the following bodies:- The General Assembly- National Committees for UNESCO's International Programmes such as MAB, IHP, IOC, IGCP, for Bioethics.- The Secretariat.
Members/CompositionThe National Commission comprises 34 members representing Ministries (Education, Information, Environmental Protection and Nuclear Security, Culture and Arts, Family and Youth Affairs, Emergency Cases), national institutions and NGOs involved in UNESCO's fields of competence, the Parliament, the national university, the National Academy of Science.
Executive CommitteeThe Commission has no Executive Committee
General AssemblyThe General Assembly meets quarterly.
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions
OverviewThe National Commission cooperates with the National Commissions of Germany, Lithuania, Poland, Russian Federation, Republic of Belarus and Republic of Moldova. It collaborates with the Regional Office for Science and Technology in Europe (ROSTE, Venice), the UNESCO European Centre for Higher Education (CEPES, Bucharest) and the UNESCO Institute for Information Technologies in Education ( IITE, Moscow).
Bulletin of the National Commission of Ukraine for UNESCO
LanguageEnglish and Ukrainian