

General Conference

36th Session, Paris 2011

36 C

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization

Organisation
des Nations Unies
pour l'éducation,
la science et la culture

Organización de las Naciones Unidas para la Educación, la Ciencia y la Cultura

Организация Объединенных Наций по вопросам образования, науки и культуры

> منظمة الأمم المتحدة للتربية والعلم والثقافة

联合国教育、科学及文化组织

*

36 C/66 27 October 2011 Original: French

Item 1.2 of the agenda

FIRST REPORT OF THE CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE

At its first plenary meeting, held on 25 October 2011, the General Conference of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, in accordance with Rules 26 and 32 of its Rules of Procedure, established a Credentials Committee for its 36th session, consisting of the following Member States: Azerbaijan, Canada, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Egypt, Namibia, Nepal, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) and Yemen.

The Credentials Committee held its first meeting at 12 p.m. on the same day.

The Committee elected H.E. Uffe Andreasen, Ambassador, Representative of Denmark to the UNESCO Executive Board, as its Chairperson.

At the request of the Chairperson, the Legal Advisor informed the Committee of the criteria for deciding whether credentials are valid, as laid down in Rule 23 of the Rules of Procedure of the General Conference. This Rule provides that the credentials of delegates and alternates shall be issued by the head of State, the head of the government, or the Minister for Foreign Affairs or another minister authorized by the Minister for Foreign Affairs to issue credentials.

The Legal Advisor also explained the meaning and implications of the expression "provisional credentials" according to the practice established by the General Conference of UNESCO.

The Secretariat then informed the Committee of the state of the credentials received so far. The Committee concluded that the credentials of the following Member States had been issued in conformity with Rule 23 of the Rules of Procedure of the General Conference, namely that the credentials had been issued by the head of State, the head of the government, the Minister for Foreign Affairs or another minister authorized by the Minister for Foreign Affairs to issue credentials. The delegations of the following Member States were accordingly considered to be duly accredited:¹

_

The delegation of the Republic of the Marshall Islands informed the Committee on 25 October 2011 that "RMI's delegate to the above-referenced session, will not be able to attend this important conference. Therefore, this prevents RMI from participating in the conference and in voting proceedings".

Afghanistan Finland Oman Albania France Pakistan Algeria Gabon Palau Andorra Gambia Panama Angola Georgia Paraguay Armenia Ghana Peru Portugal Australia Greece Austria Grenada Qatar

Azerbaijan Guyana Republic of Korea Bahrain Hungary Republic of Moldova

Bangladesh Iceland Romania

Barbados Indonesia Russian Federation

Belarus Ireland Rwanda Belgium Israel Saint Lucia

Belize Italy Saint Vincent and the Benin Jamaica Grenadines

Samoa

Senegal

San Marino

Seychelles

Bhutan Japan
Bosnia and Herzegovina Kazakhstan
Botswana Kenya
Brazil Kiribati
Brunei Darussalam Kuwait

Brunei Darussalam Kuwait Singapore Bulgaria Kyrgyzstan Slovakia Burkina Faso Lao People's Democratic Slovenia

Burundi Republic Solomon Islands Cambodia South Africa Latvia Canada Lebanon Spain Cape Verde Sri Lanka Lesotho Central African Republic Liberia Suriname Chad Libya Sweden Chile Lithuania Switzerland

China Luxembourg Syrian Arab Republic

Comoros Madagascar Tajikistan
Congo Malawi Thailand
Cook Islands Malaysia Timor-Leste
Costa Rica Maldives Togo
Côte d'Ivoire Malta Tonga

Côte d'IvoireMaltaTongaCroatiaMauritaniaTurkeyCubaMexicoTurkmenistan

Cyprus Monaco Tuvalu Czech Republic Mongolia Ukraine

Democratic People's Republic Montenegro United Arab Emirates
of Korea Morocco United Kingdom of Great
Democratic Republic of the Mozambique Britain and Northern

Congo Myanmar Ireland

Denmark Namibia United States of America

Djibouti Nepal Uruguay
Dominican Republic Netherlands Uzbekistan

Ecuador New Zealand Venezuela (Bolivarian

Eritrea Nicaragua Republic of)
Estonia Niger Viet Nam
Ethiopia Niue Yemen
Fiji Norway Zimbabwe

The Committee recommends that the delegations of the above-mentioned Member States be allowed to take part in the work of the General Conference at its 36th session.

The delegations of the following Member States have submitted credentials in the form of notes, letters or other documents issued by a minister other than the Minister for Foreign Affairs and not so authorized by the latter, by the head of a diplomatic mission, by a Permanent Delegate to UNESCO or by a senior government official:

ArgentinaIndiaSaudi ArabiaBahamasIraqSomaliaCameroonJordanSudanColombiaMaliSwaziland

Egypt Nauru Trinidad and Tobago

El Salvador Nigeria Tunisia
Germany Papua New Guinea Uganda
Guatemala Philippines Zambia

Honduras Poland

The Committee proposes that these notes, letters and other documents be accepted as the provisional credentials of the delegations of the Member States concerned, subject to later presentation of credentials in due form, and that in the meantime these delegations be allowed to take part in the work of the General Conference at its 36th session.

Credentials in due form have been submitted by the delegations of the British Virgin Islands and the Faroe Islands, Associate Members.

Provisional credentials have also been received from the delegation of Macao, Associate Member.

The Committee has also received credentials in due form for the observer delegation of the Holy See.

The Committee proposes that these credentials should also be accepted.

The delegations of the following Member States have not yet submitted credentials:

Antigua and Barbuda Mauritius

Bolivia (Plurinational State of)

Dominica

Micronesia (Federated States of)

United Republic of Tanzania

Guinea Saint Kitts and Nevis
Guinea-Bissau Sao Tome and Principe

Equatorial Guinea Serbia
Haiti Sierra Leone

Iran (Islamic Republic of)

The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia

Marshall Islands Vanuatu

The delegations of the following Associate Members have not yet submitted credentials:

Aruba

Cayman Islands

Tokelau

The observer delegations of Liechtenstein and Palestine have not yet submitted credentials.