

General Conference

37th Session, Paris, 2013

37 C

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization

> Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'éducation, la science et la culture

Organización de las Naciones Unidas para la Educación, la Ciencia y la Cultura

Организация Объединенных Наций по вопросам образования, науки и культуры

> منظمة الأمم المتحدة للتربية والعلم والثقافة

> > 联合国教育、 科学及文化组织

37 C/65 7 November 2013 Original: French

Item 1.2 of the provisional agenda

FIRST REPORT OF THE CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE

At its first plenary meeting, held on Tuesday 5 November 2013, the General Conference of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, in accordance with Rules 26 and 32 of its Rules of Procedure, established a Credentials Committee for its 37th session, consisting of the following Member States: Bahrain, Cameroon, Canada, Ecuador, Germany, India, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Paraguay and the Czech Republic.

The Credentials Committee held its first meeting at 12 p.m. on the same day.

The Committee elected H.E. Ms. Hadidja Alim Youssouf, Minister of Basic Education of Cameroon and President of the National Commission of the Republic of Cameroon for UNESCO as its Chairperson.

At the request of the Chairperson, the Legal Advisor informed the Committee of the criteria for deciding whether credentials are valid, as laid down in Rule 23 of the Rules of Procedure of the General Conference. This Rule provides that the credentials of delegates and alternates shall be issued by the head of State, the head of the government, or the Minister for Foreign Affairs or another minister authorized by the Minister for Foreign Affairs to issue credentials.

The Legal Advisor also explained the meaning and implications of the expression "provisional credentials" according to the practice established by the General Conference of UNESCO.

The Secretariat then informed the Committee of the state of the credentials received so far. The Committee concluded that the credentials of the following Member States had been issued in conformity with Rule 23 of the Rules of Procedure of the General Conference, namely that the credentials had been issued by the head of State, the head of the government, the Minister for Foreign Affairs or another minister authorized by the Minister for Foreign Affairs to issue credentials. The delegations of the following Member States were accordingly considered to be duly accredited:

Afghanistan Finland Palau Albania France Palestine Algeria Gabon Panama Andorra Gambia Paraguay Angola Georgia **Philippines** Armenia Germany Portugal Australia Ghana Qatar Austria Greece

Republic of Korea Grenada Republic of Moldova Azerbaijan **Bahamas** Guatemala Romania

Bahrain Guinea

Russian Federation Bangladesh Guyana Saint Lucia

Barbados Honduras Saint Vincent and the

Belarus Hungary Grenadines Belgium Iceland Samoa

Iran (Islamic Republic of) Belize Saudi Arabia Benin Ireland Senegal Bhutan Italy Serbia Bolivia (Plurinational State of) Jamaica Seychelles Bosnia and Herzegovina Japan Singapore

Botswana Kazakhstan Slovakia Brazil Kenya Slovenia Kiribati Solomon Islands Brunei Darussalam

Kuwait South Africa Bulgaria Burkina Faso Spain Kyrgyzstan Burundi Latvia Sri Lanka Cambodia Lebanon Sudan Cameroon Lesotho Suriname Canada Liberia Sweden

Central African Republic Libya Switzerland Lithuania Syrian Arab Republic Chad

China Luxembourg **Tajikistan** Colombia Madagascar Thailand

Comoros Malawi The former Yugoslav Republic

Congo Malaysia of Macedonia Cook Islands Mauritania Timor-Leste Costa Rica Mauritius Togo Côte d'Ivoire Micronesia (Federated Tonga Turkey Croatia States of)

Turkmenistan Cuba Monaco Cyprus Mongolia Tuvalu

Czech Republic Trinidad and Tobago Montenegro Democratic People's Republic United Kingdom of Great Morocco Britain and Northern Ireland of Korea Myanmar

Democratic Republic of the Namibia United Republic of Tanzania Nauru United States of America Congo

Denmark Nepal Uruguay Djibouti Netherlands Uzbekistan Dominican Republic New Zealand Vanuatu Viet Nam **Ecuador** Niger

Nigeria Yemen Egypt **Equatorial Guinea** Norway Zambia Estonia Oman Zimbabwe

Pakistan Ethiopia

Fiji

The Committee recommends that the delegations of the above-mentioned Member States be allowed to take part in the work of the General Conference at its 37th session.

The delegations of the following Member States have submitted credentials in the form of notes, letters or other documents issued by a minister other than the Minister for Foreign Affairs and not so authorized by the latter, by the head of a diplomatic mission, by a Permanent Delegate to UNESCO or by a senior government official:

Argentina Jordan Rwanda

Cape Verde Lao People's Democratic Saint Kitts and Nevis

ChileRepublicSan MarinoEl SalvadorMexicoSomaliaIndiaNicaraguaTunisiaIndonesiaPeruUganda

Iraq Poland United Arab Emirates

The Committee proposes that these notes, letters and other documents be accepted as the provisional credentials of the delegations of the Member States concerned, subject to later presentation of credentials in due form, and that in the meantime these delegations be allowed to take part in the work of the General Conference at its 37th session.

Credentials in due form have been submitted by the delegations of the following Associate Members:

Anguilla Curaçao
Aruba Faroe Islands
British Virgin Islands Sint Maarten

The Committee has also received credentials in due form for the observer delegation of the Holy See.

The Committee proposes that these credentials should also be accepted.

The delegations of the following Member States have not yet submitted credentials:

Antigua and Barbuda Mozambique

Dominica Niue

Eritrea Papua New Guinea
Guinea-Bissau Sao Tome and Principe

Haiti Sierra Leone Israel South Sudan Maldives Swaziland Mali Ukraine

Marshall Islands Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)

Malta

The delegations of the following Associate Members have not yet submitted credentials:

Cayman Islands Macao, China Tokelau

The following observer delegation has not yet submitted credentials.

Liechtenstein