	General Conference 38th Session, Paris, 2015		38 C
United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization			
Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'éducation, la science et la culture			
Organización de las Naciones Unidas para la Educación, la Ciencia y la Cultura			
Организация Объединенных Наций по вопросам образования, науки и культуры			38 C/73 4 November 2015 Original: English
. منظمة الأمم المتحدة للتربية والعلم والثقافة			
联合国教育、 科学及文化组织			
	Item 1.2 of the agenda		

FIRST REPORT OF THE CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE

At its first plenary meeting, held on Tuesday 3 November 2015, the General Conference of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, in accordance with Rules 26 and 32 of its Rules of Procedure, established a Credentials Committee for its 38th session, consisting of the following Member States:

- El Salvador
- Guinea
- Kazakhstan
- Kenya
- Niger
- Nigeria
- Turkey
- Yemen

The Credentials Committee held its first meeting at 12 p.m. on the same day.

The Committee elected H.E. Ms Mariam Y. Katagum, Ambassador, Permanent Delegate of Nigeria to UNESCO, as its Chairperson.

At the request of the Chairperson, the Legal Advisor informed the Committee of the criteria for deciding whether credentials are valid, as laid down in Rule 23 of the Rules of Procedure of the General Conference. This Rule provides that the credentials of delegates and alternates shall be issued by the head of State, the head of the government, or the Minister for Foreign Affairs or another minister authorized by the Minister for Foreign Affairs to issue credentials.

The Legal Advisor also explained the meaning and implications of the expression "provisional credentials" according to the practice established by the General Conference of UNESCO.

The Secretariat then informed the Committee of the state of the credentials received so far. The Committee concluded that the credentials of the following Member States had been issued in conformity with Rule 23 of the Rules of Procedure of the General Conference, namely that the credentials had been issued by the head of State, the head of the government, the Minister for Foreign Affairs or another minister authorized by the Minister for Foreign Affairs to issue credentials. The delegations of the following Member States were accordingly considered to be duly accredited:

- Afghanistan
- Albania
- Algeria
- Andorra
- Armenia
- Australia
- Austria
- Azerbaijan
- Bahamas
- Bahrain
- Bangladesh
- Barbados
- Belarus
- Belgium
- Belize
- Benin
- Bhutan
- Bolivia (Plurinational State of)
- Bosnia and Herzegovina
- Botswana
- Brazil
- Brunei Darussalam
- Bulgaria
- Burkina Faso
- Burundi
- Cambodia
- Canada
- Cabo Verde
- Central African Republic
- Chad
- Chile
- China
- Colombia
- Comoros
- Congo
- Cook Islands
- Costa Rica
- Croatia
- Cuba
- Cyprus
- Czech Republic

- Democratic People's Republic of Korea
- Democratic Republic of the Congo
- Denmark
- Diibouti
- Dominican Republic
- Egypt
- El Salvador
- Equatorial Guinea
- Eritrea
- Estonia
- Fiji
- Finland
- France
- Gabon
- Gambia
- Georgia
- Germany
- Ghana
- Greece
- Grenada
- Guinea
- Guyana
- Honduras
- Hungary
- Iceland
- India
- Indonesia
- Iran (Islamic
- Republic of)
- Iraq
- Ireland
- Israel
- Italy
- Jamaica
- Japan
- Jordan
- Kazakhstan
- Kenya
- Kuwait
- Kyrgyzstan

- Lao People's
 Democratic
 Republic
- Latvia
- Latvia – Lebar
- Lebanon
- Lesotho
- Liberia
- Lithuania
- Luxembourg
- Madagascar
- Malaysia
- Maldives
- Mali
- Mauritania
- Mauritius
- Mexico
- Micronesia (Federated States of)

Montenegro

Mozambique

Netherlands

New Zealand

Nicaragua

Morocco

Myanmar

Namibia

Nepal

Niger

Norway

Pakistan

Paraguay

Poland

Qatar

Portugal

Romania

Philippines

Papua New Guinea

Republic of Korea

Republic of Moldova

Russian Federation

Oman

Palau

Monaco

_

_

_

_

_

_

_

_

_

_

_

_

_

_

_

_

_

_

_

_

_

- Saint Kitts and Nevis
- Saint Lucia
- Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
- Samoa
- San Marino
- Senegal _
- _ Serbia
- Seychelles _
- Singapore
- Slovakia
- Slovenia _
- _ South Africa

Sri Lanka

Spain _

_

- Tunisia
- Turkey
 - Turkmenistan
- _
- Sudan _ Uganda

- Ukraine
- United Kingdom of _ Great Britain and Northern Ireland
- United Republic of Tanzania
- Uruguay _
- Uzbekistan _
- Vanuatu _
- Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)
- Viet Nam
- Zambia _
- Zimbabwe _

The Committee recommends that the delegations of the above-mentioned Member States be allowed to take part in the work of the General Conference at its 38th session.

The delegations of the following Member States have submitted credentials in the form of notes, letters or other documents issued by a minister other than the Minister for Foreign Affairs and not so authorized by the latter, by the head of a diplomatic mission, by a Permanent Delegate to UNESCO or by a senior government official:

- Angola
- Argentina
- Côte d'Ivoire
- Ecuador
- Ethiopia
- Guatemala
- Guinea-Bissau
- Haiti
- Libya
- Malta
- Nigeria
- Palestine
- Panama
- Peru
- Rwanda
- Saudi Arabia
- Solomon Islands
- Somalia
- South Sudan
- Suriname
- Syrian Arab Republic
- United Arab Emirates
- United States of America
- Yemen

The Committee proposes that these notes, letters and other documents be accepted as the provisional credentials of the delegations of the Member States concerned, subject to later

- Togo Tonga _
 - Trinidad and Tobago

Swaziland

Switzerland

Tajikistan

The former

of Macedonia

Yugoslav Republic

Thailand

Sweden

_

_

_

- - Tuvalu
- _

presentation of credentials in due form, and that in the meantime these delegations be allowed to take part in the work of the General Conference at its 38th session.

Credentials in due form have been submitted by the delegations of the following Associate Members:

- British Virgin Islands
- Curaçao
- Sint Maarten

The Committee has also received provisional credentials of the following Associate Member:

- Faroes

Credentials in due form have been submitted by the observer delegation of the Holy See.

The Committee proposes that these credentials should also be accepted.

The delegations of the following Member States have not yet submitted credentials:

- Antigua and Barbuda
- Cameroon
- Dominica
- Kiribati
- Malawi
- Marshall Islands
- Mongolia
- Nauru
- Niue
- Sao Tome and Principe
- Sierra Leone
- Timor-Leste

The delegations of the following Associate Members have not yet submitted credentials:

- Anguilla
- Aruba
- Cayman Islands
- Macau (China)
- Tokelau

The following observer delegation has not yet submitted credentials:

- Liechtenstein