You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 05:32:55 Oct 02, 2016, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

Prizes and Awards

UNESCO Prizes in Science

Kalinga Prize for the Popularization of Science

The Kalinga Prize rewards the efforts of a person who has had a distinguished career as a writer, editor, lecturer, radio/television programme director or film producer, which has enabled him/her to help interpret science, research and technology to the public.

L'Oreal-UNESCO Prize for Women in Science

Each year, the For Women in Science Programme highlights scientific excellence and encourages talent through:

  • The L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Awards, given each year to five outstanding women scientists – one per continent – for the contributions of their research, the strength of their commitments and their impact on society.
  • The UNESCO-L’Oréal international Fellowships, and
  • The L'Oréal National Fellowships.

UNESCO Sultan Qaboos Prize for Environmental Preservation

The purpose of the Prize is to afford recognition to outstanding contributions by individuals, groups of individuals, institutes or organizations in the management or preservation of the environment, consistent with the policies, aims and objectives of UNESCO. The Prize is awarded biennially.

UNESCO-Equatorial Guinea International Prize for Research in the Life Sciences

The UNESCO-Equatorial Guinea International Prize for Research in the Life Sciences rewards individuals, institutions, or organizations for scientific research in the life sciences that improve the quality of human life.

Carlos J. Finlay UNESCO Prize for Microbiology

The Carlos J. Finlay UNESCO Prize rewards the efforts of an individual, or of an institution, non-governmental organization or other entity which, through research and development, has made an outstanding contribution to the field of microbiology and its applications. In so doing, the Government of Cuba and UNESCO aim to encourage research and development of Microbiology.

UNESCO Awards in Science

UNESCO-MAB Young Scientists Awards

Since 1989, the Man and the Biosphere Programme has been awarding yearly scholarships to ten young researchers, to encourage them to work on ecosystems, natural resources and biodiversity. Since 2010 two special fellowships financed by the Austrian MAB Committee are also being awarded.

Michel Batisse Award for Biosphere Reserve Management

This prize is awarded every two years in memory of Dr Michel Batisse for excellence in the management of the biosphere reserves in line with the recommendations of the Seville Strategy.

Mercosur Award in Science and Technology

The Award is open to students and researchers from Brazil and all the MERCOSUR countries: Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela, besides Brazil. There are four categories, for high school students, college students, young researchers and teams of researchers.

UNESCO Medals in Science

UNESCO Niels Bohr Gold Medal

The UNESCO Niels Bohr Gold Medal was established in 1985 to commemorate the centenary of Niels Bohr’s birth and was given out in 1998, 2005, 2010 and now in 2013. The medal is awarded to researchers who have made outstanding contributions to physics – research which, furthermore, has or could have a significant influence on the world.

The IOC-UNESCO Anton Bruun Medal
The Anton Bruun Memorial Lectures were established in 1970, to invite speakers to summarize important developments in the fields of solid earth studies, physical and chemical oceanography and meteorology, and marine biology during the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission’s Assembly, every 2 years. Earch speaker is also awarded the IOC-UNESCO Anton Bruun medal. Both are dedicated to the memory of the noted Danish oceanographer and first chairman of the Commission, Dr Anton Frederick Bruun.

The IOC-UNESCO N.K. Panikkar Medal

The N.K. Panikkar Memorial Lecture Series, dedicated to the memory of the noted Indian oceanographer, are held every 2 years during the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission’s Assembly. They address capacity building in marine science issues at regional and/or national level. The IOC-UNESCO N.K. Panikkar Medal is given to the guest speaker.

Back to top