You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 15:10:47 Oct 20, 2016, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
 UNESCO.ORG | Education | Natural Sciences | Social & Human Sciences | Culture | Communication & Information


graphic element 1

Communication and Information Resources

graphic element 2


Communication and Information Sector's news service

Czech National Library to receive UNESCO/Jikji Memory of the World Prize

01-09-2005 (Paris/Seoul)
The National Library of the Czech Republic will be awarded the first UNESCO/Jikji Memory of the World Prize in recognition of its contribution to the preservation and accessibility of documentary heritage on September 2. The prize giving ceremony will take place in Cheongju in the Republic of Korea.
The National Library was selected from a short-list of seven, out of a total of 36, nominations to receive the US$30,000 prize, funded by the city of Cheongju. The laureate of the prize is proposed by the Bureau and Advisory Board of UNESCO’s Memory of the World Programme for the preservation of documentary heritage and is designated by the Director-General of UNESCO.

The prize commemorates the inscription on the Memory of the World Register of the oldest known book of movable metal print in the world, the Buljo jikji simche yojeol. Printed in two volumes in Korea in 1377 A.D., The Jikji contains the essentials of Zen Buddhism. The first volume of the work is missing and the second is kept in the Bibliothèque nationale of France.

The six other short-listed nominations for the prize were: the National Library of Australia, the Departamento del Valle del Cauca (Colombia), the National Mission for Manuscripts (India), the Universidad Centroamericana (Nicaragua), Fathi Hassan Saleh (Egypt), and the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR) in Tanzania.

Created in 2004, the UNESCO/Jikji Memory of the World Prize is given biennially to individuals or organizations that have made significant contribution to the preservation and accessibility of documentary heritage. It is awarded in an official ceremony either in Paris or in the Republic of Korea on the occasion of the Jikji Day.
Related themes/countries

      · 2005
      · Memory of the World: News archives 2005
      · Czech Republic: News Archives
      · 2005
      · News Archives
Share this story:
  • co.mments
  • del.icio.us
  • digg
  • Furl
  • Ma.gnolia
  • NewsVine
  • Reddit
  • Shadows
  • Simpy
  • YahooMyWeb