You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 20:41:37 Oct 21, 2016, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

Rules for the Prize


    The UNESCO Prize for the Promotion of the Arts (hereinafter called ‘the Prize’) shall be awarded, in accordance with the ideals of Mr Kaii Higashiyama, in recognition of outstanding creative achievements by young artists, or groups of artists, in the field of the visual arts (painting, sculpture and graphics), that of new technologies and that of the performing arts, and to encourage their further development as artists.


    The Prize shall be awarded to five laureates (or groups of laureates) in the above-mentioned fields every two years, with the exception of the ‘new technologies’ section which shall be awarded annually, by the Director-General of UNESCO. The prizes shall be awarded in the framework of international or regional cultural and artistic events (festivals, biennales, exhibitions, fairs, competitions, etc.) at the discretion of the Director-General.

    The Prize

    Each of the prizes shall consist of a financial award of approximately US$ 20,000, with the exception of that for new technologies which shall amount to US$ 10,000, the exact sums to be decided each time on the basis of the amount made available in advance to UNESCO from interest accruing from the Higashiyama Fund set up and managed by the National Federation of UNESCO Associations in Japan (hereinafter called the ‘NFUAJ’). To this end the Director-General of UNESCO has established a Special Account to receive such interest payments. Any unspent balance of the Special Account shall be carried forward from one financial period to the next.

    Selection of prizewinners

    The prizewinners shall be selected from among the artists participating in international, regional or interregional cultural and artistic events in the framework of which the Director-General has decided to award the Prize, as indicated in Article 2. The task of selecting the prizewinner (or prizewinners) shall be entrusted to the jury already set up for the event.

    Organization of the Prize

    The Jury shall consist of seven members from different parts of the world, appointed by mutual agreement between the Director-General and the organizers of the event. Five of these members shall be eminent specialists in the fields described in Article 1. One member shall represent the NFUAJ and one shall represent the Director-General and shall at the same time act as Secretary to the Jury. The Jury shall adopt its Rules of Procedure. The administrative costs of the selection process and of the prize-giving ceremony shall, in the case of the Prize for new technologies and the performing arts, be borne entirely by the organizers of the event and, in the case of the Prize for the visual arts, be met entirely from the funds provided to UNESCO by the NFUAJ.

    The Director-General shall invite Member States or Associate Members of UNESCO to propose their choice of international or regional cultural or artistic events within the framework of which the prizes may be awarded. The Director-General shall inform them, at least four months in advance, which events have been chosen after consultation with artists’ and performers’ representatives and NGOs.

    The Prize shall be advertised in a manner to be determined between UNESCO and the organizers of the event.


    The Prize, which was created within the framework of the World Decade for Cultural Development (1988-1997), shall in future be awarded in connection with the programme concerning creation and creativity. It is established for an unlimited duration. If the NFUAJ and UNESCO should decide to discontinue awarding the Prize, any unspent balance of the Special Account shall be returned to the NFUAJ, after deduction of any expenses remaining unpaid at the time of the discontinuation of the Prize.