You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 07:08:03 Nov 01, 2016, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
  UNESCO.ORG The Organization Education Natural Sciences Social & Human Sciences Culture Communication & Information

Composition of the Jury of the Avicenna Prize 2009
Philippe Busquin (Belgium)

Mr Philippe Busquin is a nuclear physicist and former Minister (Belgium). Currently, he is a member of the European Parliament and holds the Chair of the Science and Technology Options Assessment (STOA) in Brussels. He was also the EU Commissioner for Research (1999-2004) and has developed a number of projects related to science and society.

Tafeeda Jarbawi (Palestine)

Ms Tafeeda Jarbawi is a Palestinian Chemist. Since December 1994 she has been serving UNRWA / West Bank Field as the Dean of the Educational Science Faculty and Ramallah Women’s Training College. Her nomination was conveyed by the Palestinian National Authority. Her responsibilities include the technical and administrative supervision and development of Teacher Education as well as the Technical & Vocational programs which are offered to young Palestinian women refugees. Recently, she has been appointed as member in UNRWA reform committees.

Rajaona Andriamananjara (Madagascar)

Mr Rajaona Andriamananjara (Madagascar) is an economist. He is the President of the Madagascar Academy of Science, Arts and Letters and also President of the newly founded Madagascar Committee of Ethics of Science and Technology.

  Email this page     Printable version

  Email this page
 Printable version
Who's who?