You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 09:28:50 Nov 01, 2016, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
  UNESCO.ORG The Organization Education Natural Sciences Social & Human Sciences Culture Communication & Information

UNESCO/Bilbao Prize for the Promotion of a Culture of Human Rights (former UNESCO Prize for Human Rights Education) - More ...
Below you will find more detailed information on the Prize.
Who can win the Prize?

The UNESCO/Bilbao Prize for the Promotion of a Culture of Human Rights is awarded to institutions, organizations or persons having made a particularly efficient, exemplary and genuine contribution to the creation of a universal culture of human rights.

The UNESCO/Bilbao Prize carries on the UNESCO Prize for Human Rights Education, which was created in 1978 to mark the 30th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. For thirty years the Prize served to encourage education for and in human rights and to reward achievement in this field. Among the laureates of the UNESCO Prize for Human Rights Education are eminent personalities and experts, civil society organizations and academic institutions:

1978 Mumtaz SOYSAL (Turkey)

1979 Paul MORREN (Belgium)

1981 Ali Sadek ABOU-HEIF (Egypt)

1983 Felix ERMACORA (Austria)

1986 Héctor FIX ZAMUDIO (Mexico)

1988 Asamblea Permanente de los Derechos Humanos (Bolivia)

1990 Václav HAVEL (Czech Republic)

1992 Arab Institute of Human Rights (Tunisia)

1994 Academic José ZALAQUETT DAHER (Chile) and the Philippine Commission of Human Rights (Philippines)

1996 Former Haitian President Jean Bertrand Aristide (Haïti)

1998 Justice Michael KIRBY of the High Court of Australia (Australia)

2000 City of Nuremberg (Germany)

2002 Academia Mexicana de Derechos Humanos (Mexico) Read more ...

2004 Vitit Muntarbhorn (Thailand) Read more ...

2006 Centre for Human Rights, University of Pretoria(South Africa) Read more ...

Who can submit Nominations?

Nominations can be presented by governments of Member States, in consultation with their National Commissions, and by non-governmental organizations maintaining formal relations with UNESCO. A self-nomination cannot be considered

Each nomination must be established on the relevant form and shall be accompanied by a written recommendation of not more than five standard pages in length, which shall include, in English or French, inter alia (all other materials may be attached as an annex; they will not be returned to nominators):

(a) a description of the candidate’s background and achievements;

(b) a summary of the work or the results of the work, publications and other supporting documents of major importance, submitted for consideration;

(c) a definition of the candidate’s contribution to the Prize’s objectives.

A standard form - available in English and French - is prepared by the Secretariat of the Prize, for each biennial award.

Who designates Laureates?

The prize-winners are chosen by the Director-General of UNESCO, following the proposal of an International Jury composed of five public personalities representing the different regions of the world.

The recommendation of the International Jury is based on its appreciation of the relevant initiatives and contributions, according to the criteria laid down in Article 3 of the Statutes.

The name of the prize-winner is announced on 10 December, on the occasion of the Human Rights Day. Prize, representing an amount of not less than US$ 20,000 and a trophy is awarded during an official ceremony.

Statutes of the Prize

Back to UNESCO/Bilbao Prize for the Promotion of a Culture of Human Rights

  Email this page     Printable version

  Email this page
 Printable version