You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 15:15:11 Jan 27, 2017, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

About us

The United Nations Organization for Education, Science and Culture (UNESCO) was founded on 16 November 1945.

UNESCO has 195 Members and eight Associate Members. It is governed by the General Conference and the Executive Board. The Secretariat, headed by the Director-General, implements the decisions of these two bodies.

The Organization has more than 50 field offices around the world. Its headquarters are located at Place de Fontenoy in Paris, France, in in an outstanding, Modernist building inaugurated in 1958 and recently renovated.

Visit us

Group visits of UNESCO Headquarters can be organized upon reservation : visits(at)unesco.org.

Contact us

UNESCO Headquarters is established in the heart of Paris. Offices are located in two places in the same area:

  • 7 Place de Fontenoy 75352 Paris 07 SP France
  • 1 rue Miollis 75732 Paris Cedex 15 France

General phone: +33 (0)1 45 68 10 00

Getting here

UNESCO Headquarters is considered international territory and belongs to the Organization’s 195 Member States.

UNESCO does not offer parking facilities. We therefore recommend using public transport.

By Metro: Ségur, Cambronne, Ecole militaire

By Bus: 28, 80

View Larger Map
Back to top