You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 01:15:25 Jan 28, 2017, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide



With whom?


  • © UNESCO

Member States
The Participation Programme is open to all Member States and Associate Members or territories.

During the 2002-2003 period, the Director General of UNESCO, Koïchiro Matsuura, made an appeal to the member countries of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), and more particularly to those on its Development Assistance Committee (CAD), to refrain from submitting requests under the Participation Programme in order to increase the amount of resources available for allocations to least developed countries (LDCs).

This was an appeal heeded and renewed for the 2004-2005, 2006-2007 and 2008-2009 bienniums, enabling the intended increase.

International Non-Governmental Organizations enjoying formal or operational relations with UNESCO, the list of which is established by the Executive Board, may also submit requests under the title of the Participation Programme.

Europe and North America Latin America and the Caribbean Africa Arab States Asia Pacific