You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 06:00:39 Jan 28, 2017, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide


   The executive branch of the Organization

The Secretariat consists of the Director-General and the Staff appointed by him. As of January 2007, the Secretariat employed around 2,100 civil servants from some 170 countries. The staff is divided into Professional and General Service categories. Under a recent decentralization policy, more than 700 staff members work in UNESCO's 58 field offices around the world.

  • Interactive Organizational Chart

  • Structure of the UNESCO Secretariat

  • Office of the Director-General

    Programme Sectors:
  • Education
  • Natural Sciences
  • Social and Human Sciences
  • Culture
  • Communication and Information

    Support Sectors:
  • External Relations and Cooperation
  • Administration

    Central Services:
  • Secretariat of the General Conference
  • Secretariat of the Executive Board
  • Office of International Standards and Legal Affairs
  • Internal Oversight Service
  • Ethics Office
  • Bureau of Strategic Planning
  • Bureau of the Budget
  • Bureau of Human Resources Management
  • Bureau of Field Coordination
  • Bureau of Public Information
  • Bureau of the Comptoller
  • Africa Department
  • Secretariat of the Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize
  • Office of Foresight

    Field Offices

    UNESCO Institutes and Centres
    Europe and North America Latin America and the Caribbean Africa Arab States Asia Pacific