You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 14:45:47 Jan 31, 2017, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

UNESCO: United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization




  • © UNESCO
  • Muskauer Park / Park Muzakowski

Poland joined UNESCO on November 6, 1946.

Poland has 13 sites inscribed on the World Heritage List, including the historic centres of Crakow, Warsaw, the Muskauer Park/Park Muzakowsi and Wroclaw Centennial Hall. The Auschwitz concentration camp, inscribed in 1979, has been the object of a UNESCO-backed conservation programme since 2002. An international centre recalling the history of the Holocaust (International Centre for Education on Auschwitz and the Holocaust) was inaugurated in 2005.

UNESCO supports Polandís efforts to achieve the Education for All goals. The country is active in the Associated Schools Project network (ASPnet) and has taken part in several key projects such as the "Great Volga River Route" promoting sustainable development. Poland is also the coordinating country for the Baltic Sea Project, aimed at mobilizing schools in the nine countries along the Baltic Sea to consider regional environmental problems collectively.

There are nine UNESCO Chairs in Poland.

The country has nine biosphere reserves linked to the Man and his Biosphere (MAB) programme.

On 8 March 2006, UNESCO and the Polish Ministry of Education and Science signed an agreement to establish the European Regional Centre for Ecohydrology in Lodz.

Europe and North America Latin America and the Caribbean Africa Arab States Asia Pacific