You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 14:57:00 Jan 31, 2017, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

UNESCO: United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization




  • © UNESCO
  • Ichkeul National Park

Tunisia joined UNESCO on 8 November 1956.

The country is covered by the UNESCO Office Rabat (Morocco), a cluster office also including Algeria, the Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Mauritania and Morocco.

In 2005, in close collaboration with UNESCO, the Tunisian government hosted the second half of the ground-breaking World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS). Participants adopted the Tunis Commitment and the Tunis Agenda for the Information Society.

Six UNESCO Chairs have been established in Tunisia, in Philosophy; Knowledge of Heritage and Cultural Development; Copyright and Associated Rights; Study of Comparative Religion; Mathematics and Development; and Condition of Women.

Six cultural sites in Tunisia are inscribed on the World Heritage List. These include the vast archaeological site of Carthage (1979) and the city of Thugga, former capital of an important Libyco-Punic state (1997). Tunisia’s natural heritage site, Ichkeul National Park, a migratory bird sanctuary listed as World Heritage in Danger in 1996, was removed from the list in 2006 thanks to improved conservation.

The country also has four Biosphere Reserves.

Europe and North America Latin America and the Caribbean Africa Arab States Asia Pacific