You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 15:02:40 Jan 31, 2017, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

UNESCO: United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization



Solomon Islands

Solomon Islands
  • © UNESCO/Paddy Ryan
  • East Rennell island, Lake Te Nggano

The Solomon Islands joined UNESCO on September, 7th 1992. The country is covered by the UNESCO Office in Apia, Samoa.

Rennell Island is the southernmost island of the Solomon archipelago. In 1998, UNESCO inscribed the eastern part, East Rennell, on the World Heritage List. It is the largest raised coral atoll in the world, 86 kilometres long by 15 kilometres wide and covering approximately 37,000 hectares. One main feature is Lake Tegano, largest island lake in the Pacific. With a climate marked by frequent cyclones, the site is a natural laboratory for scientific study.

Within the framework of the Action Plan for the implementation of the World Heritage - Pacific 2009 Programme, a workshop was held in the country in March 2006.

In Honiara in May 2007, the “Workshop for Advancing the Pacific Women in Media Action Plan” stressed the need for media standards to be consistent with gender equality.

Europe and North America Latin America and the Caribbean Africa Arab States Asia Pacific