You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 21:09:16 Jan 31, 2017, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide


The Director-General of UNESCO is responsible for the designation of the cities in conformity with the Designation Procedures and following consultations with: 
I. UNESCO-designated independent experts, and/or non-governmental organizations, independent institutions, including universities, specialising in the seven creative fields covered by the Network and/or in the role of creativity in urban development;
II. Cities that are members of the Network, organized into seven creative fields: crafts and folk arts, design, film, gastronomy, literature, media arts and music.
The publication of the designations for the 2015 Call for Applications has been made by the Director-General of UNESCO and has been announced on the UNESCO website on December 11, 2015.
Complete designation procedures for the 2015 Call for Applications can be found in the Designation Procedure document.
Cities interested in joining the network are invited to visit the “Call for application” page to find more information.
Read the Press release following the designation of 47 new member cities in December 2015.