You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 21:06:34 Feb 02, 2017, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
English Français


Liberian National Commission for UNESCO
Informations générales
Nom anglaisLiberian National Commission for UNESCO
Nom françaisCommission nationale du Libéria pour l'UNESCO

Ministry of Education
3rd Street, Sinkor

Téléphone230 886 565 783 (PT)
231 777 565 783 (PT)
231 886 510 058 (SG mobile)
231 886 552 192 (Deputy SG)
Fax(231) 226.144
Courriele_dtarpeh@yahoo.com; samharejr@gmail.com (SG); castonharris@yahoo.com (Deputy SG)
Langue de correspondanceENGLISH
NomMr George Werner
DébutAoût 2015

NomMr Sam E. Hare, Jr
DébutFévrier 2014

NomMr Caston Bob Harris
TitreDeputy Secretary-General
DébutFévrier 2014

Date et modalités de création15 February 1951 by an Act of Parliament
StatutGouvernemental (rattaché à 1 ministère)
LégislationThe National Commission was officially established by a legislative Act of 1951, which gives details of its Constitution.
The composition of the National Commission was restructured in August 1991.
Centre de documentationThe Documentation Centre, which is administered by one of the staff of the National Commission, mostly holds UNESCO publications and reports of UNESCO's related Agencies.
Some 600 visitors come to the Centre each year, the majority of them being students and researchers.
Structure de la CommissionThe National Commission is composed of:
- The Executive Committee, which meets once a year;
- 3 Standing Committees, which are in charge of the following sectors: Culture and Communication, Education and Science. The Minister of Education, who is Member of the Executive Committee, is Chair of the 3 Standing Committees;
- 3 Sub-Committees, which deal with Gender matters, Youth and Non-Governmental Organizations;
- The Secretariat.

The members of the National Commission do not meet in plenary.
Membres/CompositionFive (5) members representing four (4) main Sectors of UNESCO - Education, Culture, Information and Youth
Comité exécutifThe Executive Committee of the Commission includes the Minister of Education as the Chair to the three Standing Committees. It meets once a year.
Assemblée généraleThe Commission does not have a General Assembly
Comités ou sous-comitésThe three Standing Committees of the National Commission are for cultue and communication, education and science. There are also three Sub-Committees on Gender, Youth and NGOs. The sub-Committees represent government, organizations and eminent individuals.
Coopération avec l’UNESCO et d'autres Commissions nationales
Vue d'ensembleThe National Commission collaborates with the Field Offices of Dakar and Yaounde and the Côte d'Ivoire National Commission.