5th Session of the World Commission on the Ethics of Scientific Knowledge and Technology (COMEST)

Hotel Le Méridien Président, Dakar, Senegal, 5th to 9th December 2006

Provisional Programme

05/12/2006, Tuesday - Session reserved for COMEST				
09:00 - 18:00	Session reserved for COMEST members			
06/12/2006, Wednesday - Session reserved for COMEST and Forum of young African researchers				
08:00 - 09:00	Registration			
09:00 – 10:30	Session reserved for COMEST members	Forum of Young African Researchers on the theme Social Responsibility of Researchers in Africa, organized jointly by UNESCO, IDRC and the Ministry of the Scientific Research		
		Chairpersons:		
		- Mr. Pierre Sané, UNESCO Assistant Director General for Social and Human Sciences		
		- A Representative of the Young African Researchers		
		Speakers:		
		- Young African Researchers		
10:30 – 11:00	Coffee break			
11:00 – 12:30	Session reserved for COMEST members (continued)			
12:30 – 14:00	Break for lunch			
14:00 – 16:00	Forum of Young African Researchers (continued): Discussions with the COMEST members			
	Chairpersons:			
	- Mrs Pilar Armanet Armanet, President of COMEST			
	- Mr. Innocent Butare, Senior Program Specialist, IDRC			
	Speakers - Mrs. Tafeeda Jarbawi, COMEST Member - Young African Researchers			
16:00 – 16:30	Coffee break			
16:30 – 18:00	Forum of young African researchers (continued):			
	Preparation and adoption of their declaration.			
18 :00 –18 :00	Press conference			

07/12/2006, Thursday - Opening ceremony, inaugural conference, Ministerial Meeting, and plenary session 1				
08:00 - 09:00	Registration			
09:00 – 09:30	Morning coffee			
09 :30 – 10 :00	Seating of the participants			
10 :00 - 12 :00	Opening ceremony Presided by the President of the Republic of Senegal Speakers			
	- Mrs. Pilar Armamet Armamet President of COMEST			
	- Mr. Souleymane Niang President of the Academy of Science and Technology of Senegal			
	 Mr. Gilles Forget, Regional Director, International Development Research Centre (IDRC) Mr. Pierre Sané, UNESCO Assistant Director General for Social and Human Sciences His Excellency Maître Abdoulaye Wade President of Senegal 			
	Inaugural conference on the Ethics of Science: challenges facing Africa			
	 Prof. El Hadj Ibrahima Sall, Philoso Former Minister, Former Internation Chairman, West African Polytechni 	nal Officer (United Nations, World Bank)		
12:00 – 12:30	Press Conference			
12:30 – 14:00	Break for lunch			
14 :00-16 :00	Ministerial meeting	Session 1		
	- Discussion on the integration of ethics of science and technology	- Science ethics, scientists' responsibility, codes of conduct		
	in African public policies	- Regional consultation for Africa		
	 Chairperson Mrs. Yaye Kene Gassama Dia, Minister of Scientific Research of Senegal 	Chairpersons Mrs. Margaret Aribiyo Mafe, Secretary of the National Ethics Committee of Nigeria. Mrs. Marta Kollarova, COMEST Member		
	Speakers	Speaker		
	Ministers of West African countriesRepresentative of the Executive Secretary of ECOWAS	Mr. El Hadji Issa Sall, Chairman, University of Sahel, Dakar, Senegal,		
		Mr. Charles Becker, CNRS/CEA Cheikh Anta Diop University, Dakar, Senegal		
	Mr. Pierre Sané, UNESCO Assistant Director General for Social and Human Sciences	- Mr. Sang Song-yong, COMEST member		
	Mrs. Pilar Armanet Armanet President of COMEST			
16:00 – 16:30	Coffee break			
16:30 – 18:30	Ministerial Meeting (continued)	Session 1 - Science ethics, scientists'		
	Discussions on elements for a Declaration on Ethics of Science and Technology in Africa	responsibility, codes of conduct (continued)		
18:30 – 19:00	Press conference			
20:00 – 22:00	Cultural evening offered by the Go	vernment of Senegal		

08/12/2006, Frida	ay – Plenary Sessions 2 and 3		
09:00 – 10:30	Session 2 - Teaching on ethics of science and technology - Consultation on the UNESCO draft core curriculum in these fields		
	Chairpersons		
	- Mrs. Aminata Cissé Diaw, Professor, P University, Dakar, Sénégal	hilosophy Department, Cheikh Anta Diop	
	- Mr. Sang Song-yong, COMEST member Speakers	er	
	- Mr. Ruben Apressyan, COMEST memb	per	
	_	ancellor, Lagon University, Accra, Ghana	
	Mr. Christophe Kwami Dikenou, Profes Togo	sor, Philosophy Department, Lomé University,	
10:30 – 11:00	Coffee break		
11:00 – 12:00	Session 2 - Teaching of ethics of science and technology (continued)		
	- Promotion of diversity in the teaching	of ethics	
12:00 – 14:00	Break for lunch		
14:00 – 16:00	Session 3 - Ethics of the Environment		
	- Consultation on the UNESCO Draft Pol	icy Advice on Environmental Ethics	
	Chairpersons		
	- Mr. Pierre Sane, Assistant Director-Gei UNESCO	neral for Social and Human Sciences of	
	- Mrs. Nadja Tollemache, COMEST Men	nber	
	Speakers		
	- Mr. Johan Hattingh, COMEST member		
16:00 – 16:30	Coffee break		
16:30 – 18:00	Session 3 - Ethics of the Environment (continued)-The question of toxic wastes in Africa		
	Speaker		
	Mrs. Yveline Houenou, Agbo, Doctor, Duniversity, Abidjan, Ivory Coast	Department of Medical Sciences, Cocody	
09/12/2006, Satu	rday – Plenary Session 4, Ministerial work	ing group, and Closing session	
09 :00-10 :30	Session 4- Interactions between biodive perspectives	rsity, GMOs and biotechnology : African	
	Chairpersons		
	 Mr. Amadou Tidiane Ba, Director, Institute for Environmental Sciences, and Profess Cheikh Anta Diop University, Dakar, Senegal Mr. Al Ali, COMEST Member 		
	Speakers:		
	- Mr. Jeremy T. Ouedraogo, Geneticist, Institute of Environmental and Agricultural Research, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso		
	 Mrs. Mame Oureye Sy, Doctor, Departs University, Dakar, Senegal 	ment of Vegetal Biology, Cheikh Anto Diop	
10:30 – 11:00	Coffee break		
11 :00-12 :30		Vorking group of Ministers to finalise eclaration of Dakar on ethics of science and echnology in Africa	

12 :30-14 :30	Break for lunch
---------------	-----------------

14 :30 – 16:30	Closing session Presided by the Prime Minister of the Republic of Senegal Speakers	
	 Mr. Johan Hattingh, Rapporteur of COMEST Representative from Forum of young African researchers (Presentation of their Report and of their Declaration) 	
	- Mr. Souleymane Niang, President of the Academy of Science and Technology of Senegal	
	- Mrs. Yaye Kene Gassama Dia, Minister of Scientific Research of Senegal, presents the Dakar Declaration on the Ethics of Science and Technology in Africa	
	 Mrs. Pilar Armanet, President of COMEST Mr. Pierre Sané, Assistant Director-General for Social and Human Sciences of UNESCO 	
	- Vote of thanks	
	- Mr. Macky Sall, Prime Minister of Senegal	
16:30 – 17 :00	Coffee break	
17 :00 – 17:30	Press Conference	