You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 18:09:13 Feb 03, 2017, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide



Relations with the United Nations Organization

Economic and Social Council

Economic and Social Council
  • ECOSOC room, United Nations Office at Geneva

The Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) is one of the organs of the United Nations Organization which serves as the central forum for discussing international economic and social issues and for formulating policy recommendations addressed to Member States and the United Nations system.

The ECOSOC, which is composed of 54 Member States elected for a three-year term by the General Assembly, coordinates at intergovernmental level the work of the United Nations specialized agencies, the functional and regional Commissions; receives reports from de United Nations Funds and Programmes and issues policy recommendations to the United Nations system and to Member States.

The ECOSOC holds a substantive session in July, alternating between New York and Geneva and this session includes a high-level segment, at which ministers and chiefs of international agencies and other high officials focus their attention on a selected theme of global significance.

The ECOSOC is responsible for promoting higher standards of living, full employment, and economic and social progress, identifying solutions to international economic, social and health problems; facilitating international cultural and educational cooperation; and encouraging universal respect for human rights and fundamental freedoms.

The ECOSOC has the power to make or initiate studies and reports on these issues. It also has the power to assist in the preparations and organisation of major international conferences in the economic and social and related fields and to facilitate a coordinated follow-up to these conferences.

Europe and North America Latin America and the Caribbean Africa Arab States Asia Pacific