You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 19:20:43 Feb 08, 2017, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
National Commissions: UNESCO
English Français


Ethiopian National Office for UNESCO
General Information
English NameEthiopian National Office for UNESCO
French NameBureau national éthiopien pour l'UNESCO

P.O. Box 2996
Addis Ababa

Phone(251.11.1) 55 25 19
Fax(251.11.1) 55 16 55
E-mailnaueth@gmail.com (SG)
National Commissions Web site on unesco.orghttp://www.moe.gov.et (Mineduc website)
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameMr Shiferaw Tekelemariam
Election Date4 October 2010
Mandated duration
StartedOctober 2010
Type of Appointmentex officio *
Government PostMinister of Education

NameMr. Mebratu Berhan Berhe
Election Date May 2008
Mandated duration
StartedMay 2008

Date and Method of Creation31 January 1969 by a Government Order
StatusGovernmental (1 Ministry)
Legislation DatesThe judicial text was accepted31/01/1969 and last revised
LegislationThe Ethiopian National Agency was officially established in 1969 by the Government Order n° 55 1969 and is administratively integrated into the Ministry of Education.
Documentation CentreThe Ethiopian National Agency has a Documentation Centre holding some 2,200 diverse publications in English and about 400 in French.
Structure of the CommissionThe Ethiopian National Office has a classic structure, comprising a General Assembly, an Executive Committee and the Secretariat. There are no Programme Committes.
Members/CompositionInformation not provided
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions