You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 21:34:04 Feb 08, 2017, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
National Commissions: UNESCO
English Français


Mauritius National Commission for UNESCO
General Information
English NameMauritius National Commission for UNESCO

c/o Ministry of Education and Human Resources
Level 2 - MITD House
Pont Fer - Phoenix
Republic of Mauritius
Indian Ocean

Phone+230 601 34 52 / +230 601 5200 (Ex 5414)
+230 919 49 60 (Assistant SG mobil)
+230 69 77 862
Fax(230) 696 8670
(230) 686 2532
(230) 69 77 862
E-mailunescodesk@govmu.org;; anghoorah@govmu.org,; moeps@mail.gov.mu
National Commissions Web site on unesco.orghttp://ministry-education.gov.mu
Correspondence LanguageENGLISH
Office Holders
NameThe Hon. Dr. Mrs Leela Devi DOOKUN-LUCHOOMUN
StartedMarch 2016
Government PostMinister of Education

NameMrs Aneeta Ghoorah
TitleAssistant Secretary-General
StartedNovember 2012

Date and Method of Creation18 décembre 1970
Documentation CentreDocuments may be consulted at the Documentation Centre of the Ministry of Education and Scientific Research.
Structure of the CommissionThe Commission falls under the aegis of the Ministry of Education and Scientific Research. The Commission has a Board and a Secretariat.
The Minister of Education is the Chairman. He is assisted by 2 Deputy Chairpersons: (1) the Minister of Arts and Culture, (2) the Minister of Training, Skills Development and Productivity.
Members/CompositionThe National Commission is composed of 25 members who represent different Ministries, national organisations and NGOs.
Interaction with UNESCO and National Commissions