You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 13:34:01 May 04, 2017, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

Call for nominations for the UNESCO Kalinga Prize for the Popularization of Science

© UNESCO/N. Burke, Albert Einstein

Deadline for nominations: 27 May 2017

The UNESCO Kalinga Prize for the Popularization of Science is an international distinction that rewards a person who has had a distinguished career as a writer, editor, lecturer, radio/television/web programme director or film producer, which has enabled him/her to help to interpret science, research and technology to the public.

In today’s fast paced, ever changing world, societies are faced with increasing challenges – from eradicating poverty to dealing with the impact of climate change. Science can be a vital tool in coming up with equitable and sustainable solutions for these challenges. By bridging the gap between scientists and the public the benefits of scientific knowledge can be used to improve daily lives, to widen understanding and to build on solutions to overcome local, regional and global challenges. Popularizing science includes all activities that communicate scientific knowledge and scientific methods to the public, outside the formal setting of classrooms. It encompasses museums, shows and fairs, and work to promote public understanding of the history of science. To date, sixty-seven individuals, from twenty-four countries have received this award; six of whom have also been Nobel-Prize winners.

Nominations should be submitted to the Director General by the governments of Member States, in consultation with their National Commissions, and by non-governmental organizations maintaining official partnerships with UNESCO. Each Member State and non-governmental organization may designate one candidate. Nominations for the prize should reach UNESCO by 27 May 2017.

The UNESCO Kalinga Prize for the Popularization of Science is UNESCO’s oldest prize, created in 1951 following a donation from Mr Bijoyanand Patnaik, Founder and President of the Kalinga Foundation Trust in India. Today, the Prize is funded by the Kalinga Foundation Trust, the Government of the State of Orissa, India, and the Government of India (Department of Science and Technology).


Related links:

Back to top