You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 03:50:53 Jul 04, 2018, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

UNESCO in Africa

The reformed UNESCO Field Network in Africa is comprised of multisectoral regional offices, national offices, and also includes UNESCO desks within United Nations Country Teams and antennas, as out-posted administrative units of multisectoral regional offices.


Country Coverage

Multisectoral Regional Office

National Office

Project Antenna/Desks

West Africa (Sahel)

Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Gambia, Guinea Bissau, Mali, Niger, Senegal



West Africa

Benin, Côte d'Ivoire, Ghana, Guinea, Liberia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Togo


Abidjan, Accra


East Africa

Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, South Sudan, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania


Addis-Abeba, Dar es-Salaam, Juba

Antanarivo, Comores, Djibouti, Kampala, Kigali

Southern Africa

Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe


Maputo, Windhoek

Gaborone, Johannesbourg, Lilongwe, Lusaka

Central Africa

Angola, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Sao Tome and Principe


Brazzaville, Kinshasa, Libreville

Luanda, N'djamena, Bangui

Back to top