You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 04:50:22 Jul 04, 2018, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

E-9 Initiative

Pupil of a primary school class in Pakistan

© UNESCO/A. Soomro

Bangladesh, Brazil, China, Egypt, India, Indonesia, Mexico, Nigeria and Pakistan are the nine most highly-populated countries of the South. They represent more than 60 per cent of the world’s population, over two-thirds of the world’s illiterate adults and over half of the world’s out-of-school children. Their education systems thus face similar challenges. 

The E-9 Initiative is a forum for these nine high-population countries to discuss their experiences in education, exchange best practices and monitor progress on achieving Education for All (EFA). Since its launch in 1993, the E-9 network has also become a powerful lobby for EFA and South-South cooperation.

During the biennial E-9 Ministerial Review Meetings and expert meetings, country representatives focus on a specific theme for a two-year period, discuss measures to strengthen cooperation between E-9 countries on EFA, and explore ways that E-9 countries can support other countries of the South.

UNESCO’s EFA team and the rotating E-9 Secretariat facilitate and coordinate the work of the E-9 network. In addition, the countries each have a designated E-9 focal point to facilitate liaison and organization of meetings.

Back to top