## KEY FACTS AND FIGURES ON VANUATU / UNESCO COOPERATION

- 1. Membership in UNESCO: 10 February 1994
- **2. Membership of the Executive Board**: not currently a Member; has served on one previous term from 2001 to 2005 (163<sup>rd</sup> -172<sup>nd</sup> sessions).
- 3. Membership of the Intergovernmental Committees, Commissions, etc.:
  - Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC)

**Note:** Vanuatu submitted its candidature for membership of the World Heritage Committee during the elections held at the WHC General Assembly in October 2007, but it was not elected.

- 4. The Director-General's visits to Vanuatu: none
- 5. Permanent Delegation to UNESCO:
  - H. E. Mr Mickey Joy, Ambassador, Permanent Delegate (since 19/07/2012)
  - Mr Lionel Warimavute, Deputy Permanent Delegate
- 6. UNESCO Cluster Office in Apia:
  - Date of establishment: 1983
  - Member States served: Today, the Office operates as a Cluster Office in charge of 16 countries plus 1 associate member: Australia, the Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, the Marshall Islands, Micronesia (the Federated States of), Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, the Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu and Tokelau (Associate Member)
  - Director: Mr Etienne Clement (since 01/112013 D-1, Belgium)
- 7. National Commission of Vanuatu for UNESCO:
  - Date of establishment: August 1999
  - Chairperson: Mr Alfred Carlot (since June 2015)
  - UNESCO Officer: Mr Hilaire Sese (since January 2014)
- 8. Personalities linked to UNESCO's activities: none

Mr Ralph Regenvanu, former Director of the Vanuatu Cultural Centre, was a Member of the International Jury for the Proclamation of Masterpieces of the Oral and Intangible Heritage of Humanity.

- 9. UNESCO Chairs & UNITWIN Networks: none
- **10.** Associated Schools: 4 (4 Primary Schools). Vanuatu joined the ASP Network in 1999.
- 11. Category 2 Institutes and Centres: none
- 12. World Heritage Sites: 1

Cultural sites:

- Chief Roi Mata's Domain (2008)
- **13. Tentative List:** 5 properties
  - Yalo, Apialo and the sacred geography of Northwest Malakula (2004)

- The President Coolidge (2004)
- Vatthe Conservation Area (2004)
- Lake Letas (2004)
- The Nowon and Votwos of Ureparapara (2005)
- 14. Intangible Heritage List: 1
  - Vanuatu sand drawings (2003)
- 15. Biosphere Reserves: none
- 16. Memory of the World Register: 1
  - Arthur Bernard Deacon (1903-27) collection MS 90-98 (2013)
- 17. Creative Cities Network: none
- **18.** Legal instruments: 3 ratified and 36 non-ratified
- 19. Anniversaries with which UNESCO is associated in 2014-2015: none
- 20. Participation Programme:
  - 2014-2015: 3 projects approved for a total amount of US\$ 96,000 and one emergency assistance for an amount of US\$ 49,000.
  - 2012-2013: Vanuatu has not submitted PP requests
  - 2010-2011: Vanuatu has not submitted PP requests
- 21. Fellowships: no fellowship awarded since 2010
- 22. Voluntary contributions to UNESCO:

Voluntary Contributions to UNESCO Extra-Budgetary Activities and Institutes			
( Expressed in US Dollars )			
COUNTRY	Jan-Jun 2015	2014	2013
VANUATU	-	-	-

## 23. Payment of assessed membership fees for 2014-2015:

(Assessed rate: 0.001%; contributions assessed for 2014-2015: US\$ 6,530)

**24. Representation within the Secretariat:** non-represented (min.2 – max.4)