You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 14:23:21 Jun 11, 2019, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
  United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization

Permanent Delegations

Permanent Delegations

The Permanent Delegations to UNESCO ensure liaison between Member States' Governments and the Organizationís Secretariat.

At present, 183 Member States have established Permanent Delegations to UNESCO. In addition, there are 3 Permanent Observers and 10 intergovernmental organizations with Permanent Observer Missions to UNESCO.

The Permanent Delegations are headed by a person having diplomatic status (generally with the rank of ambassador). When a Permanent Delegate is appointed to the Organization, the appointment is the subject of an official communication addressed to the Director-General of the Organization.

Broad consultations are held regularly with the Permanent Delegations on important matters concerning the Organization's functioning and its activities.

© UNESCO 1995-2010 - ID: 11151