DISCLAIMER: As Member States provide national legislations, hyperlinks and explanatory notes (if any), UNESCO does not guarantee their accuracy, nor their up-dating on this web site, and is not liable for any incorrect information. COPYRIGHT: All rights reserved. This information may be used only for research, educational, legal and noncommercial purposes, with acknowledgement of UNESCO Cultural Heritage Laws Database as the source (© UNESCO).

MINISTRY OF CULTURE AND COMMUNICATION

REPUBLIC OF MALI ONE PEOPLE – ONE GOAL – ONE FAITH

GENERAL SECRETARIAT

ORDER No. 96- 1591/MCC-SG TO REPEAL AND REPLACE ORDER No. 0003/MSAC-DNAC OF 12 JANUARY 1989 TO SET UP AND DEFINE THE OPERATING PROCEDURES OF REGIONAL AND LOCAL CULTURAL HERITAGE PROTECTION COMMISSIONS

THE MINISTER OF CULTURE AND COMMUNICATION,

MINDFUL of the Constitution;

- MINDFUL of Ordinance No. 76-10/CMLN of 29 January 1976 to establish the National Directorate of Arts and Culture;
- MINDFUL of Law No. 85-40/AN- RM of 26 July 1985 relating to the protection and promotion of the national cultural heritage;
- MINDFUL of Decree No. 316/PG- RM of 1 November 1978 to reorganize the national Directorate of Arts and Culture (DNAC);
- MINDFUL of Decree No. 203/PG- RM of 13 August 1985 to institute a National Cultural Heritage Protection Commission;
- MINDFUL of Decree No. 84/PG- RM of 14 April 1987 to set up Regional Directorates of Youth, Sports, Arts and Culture;
- MINDFUL of Decree No. 93-203/ P-RM of 11 June 1993 to set up Cultural Missions in Tombouctou, Djenné and Bandiagara;
- MINDFUL of Decree No. 96-206/P-RM of 22 July 1996 to appoint members of the Government,

HEREBY ORDERS AS FOLLOWS:

ARTICLE 1: A cultural heritage protection commission is hereby established in each administrative unit in accordance with Article 7 of the above-mentioned Decree No. 203/PG- RM of 13 August 1985.

ARTICLE 2: The cultural heritage protection commissions shall be responsible for implementing the national policy on the protection and promotion of the cultural and natural heritage. To that end, they shall inform and sensitize the populations by disseminating related laws and regulations. They shall also be responsible for organizing the population to ensure their participation in restoration and maintenance works and in the operation of cultural infrastructures.

ARTICLE 3: The regional and local cultural heritage protection commissions, depending on their administrative domiciliation, shall be placed under the authority of the Governor of the Region, Head of the District and Head of Administrative Subdivision respectively.

ARTICLE 4: The regional and local cultural heritage protection commissions shall be consulted on all issues relating to the protection and promotion of the cultural and local heritage by the National Cultural Heritage Protection Commission.

ARTICLE 5: At the level of the Region, the composition of the Cultural Heritage Protection Commission shall be as follows:

Chairperson: the Governor of the Region or his representative;

Members:

- the Public Prosecutor;
- the Regional Director in charge of Culture ;
- the Heads of Cultural Missions;
- the Commander of the Defence Zone;
- the Commander of the Gendarmerie Company;
- the Coordinating Superintendent of Police;
- the Regional Director of Town Planning and Housing;
- the Regional Director of Cartography and Topography;
- the Regional Director of the Environment;
- the Regional Director of Education ;
- the Regional Director of Customs;
- the Head of the Tourism Agency;
- the Archivist of the Governorate;
- the Head of the Cultural Heritage Division, who shall be the Secretary of the Commission.

ARTICLE 6: At the level of the District ("Cercle"), the composition of the Cultural Heritage Protection Commission shall be as follows: DISCLAIMER: As Member States provide national legislations, hyperlinks and explanatory notes (if any), UNESCO does not guarantee their accuracy, nor their up-dating on this web site, and is not liable for any incorrect information. COPYRIGHT: All rights reserved. This information may be used only for research, educational, legal and noncommercial purposes, with acknowledgement of UNESCO Cultural Heritage Laws Database as the source (© UNESCO).

Chairperson: the Head of the District; **Members:** the Mayor;

- the Head of the District Service in charge of Culture;
- the Head of the Conservation and Research Office (Cultural Mission) ;
- the Head of the Tourism Station;
- the Justice of the Peace with extensive jurisdiction;
- the Territorial Gendarmerie Brigade Commander;
- the Superintendent of Police ;
- the Head of the Environment Service,
- the Director of the Local Museum;
- the Inspector of Basic Education;
- the Head of the Customs Office;
- the District Librarian;
- the Archivist of the District;
- the representative of the Town Planning and Construction Service;
- officials of cultural associations and NGOs.

ARTICLE 7: At the level of the Administrative Subdivision "Arrondissement", the composition of the Local Cultural Heritage Protection Commission shall be as follows:

Chairperson: Head of the Administrative Subdivision;

Members:

ABS CON

- the village chiefs;
- the Head Teachers of schools;
- the Head of the Subdivisional Service in charge of Culture ;
- the representative of the Gendarmerie;
- the representative of the guards and goums ;

the community development worker; the Head of the Tourism Station.

ARTICLE 8: The Cultural Heritage Protection Commission may call on or select any natural person or legal entity to assist in the accomplishment of its tasks.

ARTICLE 9: A cultural heritage protection unit may be set up in any village, fraction, hamlet, or quarter. It shall be under the supervision of the Cultural Heritage Protection Commission of the area. Its composition and operation shall be left to the initiative of the local officials.

ARTICLE 10: The Regional and Local Cultural Heritage Protection Commissions shall meet once every three (3) months under the chairmanship of the competent administrative authority of the locality (Governor of the Region, Head of the District, and Head of the Administrative Subdivision). However, they may meet in extraordinary session when convened by the competent administrative authority or on the proposal of 2/3 of their members. Decisions shall be taken by simple majority.

ARTICLE 11: Each Regional and Local Commission shall prepare its rules of procedure during the first working session.

ARTICLE 12: This Order, which repeals and replaces Order No. 0003/MSAC-DNAC of 12 January 1989, shall be registered, published and communicated wherever necessary.

BAMAKO, 14 OCTOBER 1996

BAKARY KONIBA TRAORE MINISTER OF CULTURE AND COMMUNICATION SPOKESPERSON OF THE GOVERNMENT