You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 01:09:24 Nov 19, 2019, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

Governing Board


IIEP-UNESCO governing board in December 2018.

The Governing Board

Composition :

The Institute is administered by a Governing Board, consisting of twelve members chosen for their competence and sitting in their personal capacity:

  • eight members including economists, educators and other recognized specialists in fields relevant to IIEP’s mission, with at least one member each from Latin America, Asia, Africa and the Arab States, and
  • four members designated, respectively by the United Nations, the World Bank, a UN Agency and a UN Economic Commission.

Such a unique composition ensures that IIEP’s programmes correspond to the needs of UNESCO Member States by drawing from diversity of individual knowledge and experiences. Such a small but effective and representative board is also excellent way of ensuring a balance between autonomy and accountability to the Organization

Role :

The Board determines the general policy and the nature of the Institute’s activities within the framework of the general policy of UNESCO. It decides on the programme and the budget of the Institute and ensures the implementation of its activities.

Board members


Nicholas Burnett (United Kingdom/United States of America)
Senior Fellow, Results for Development Institute


Designated members:

Laís Abramo
Director of the Division of Social Development 

United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean

Nina Arnhold 
Senior Education Specialist, 
The World Bank

Srinivas Reddy
Chief of the Skills and Employability Branch
International Labour Organization

Robert Jenkins
Chief, Education and Associate Director


Elected members:


Rukmini Banerji (India)
Director, ASER Centre
New Delhi, India

Dina El Khawaga (Egypt)
Director, Asfari Institute for Civil Society and Citizenship
Beirut, Lebanon


Valérie Liechti (Switzerland)
Swiss Agency for development and cooperation,
Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA), Switzerland

Dzingai Mutumbuka (Zimbabwe)
Former Chair,
Association for the Development of Education in Africa (ADEA)

Keiichi Ogawa
Professor & Department Chair
Graduate School of International Cooperation Studies
Kobe University, Japan

Jean-Michel Séverino
Investisseurs & Partenaires
Paris, France

José Weinstein Cayuela
Professor and Director Doctorate in Education
Diego Portales University, Santiago, Chile