You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 01:38:12 Nov 19, 2019, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

Governing Board

The UNESCO Institute for Lifelong Learning has a Governing Board consisting of twelve members who are nominated intuitu personae by the Director-General of UNESCO. The Governing Board is made up of outstanding education experts from different regions of the world who meet once a year to review the progress of the Institute's work and plan future policy.

Composition of the UIL Governing Board

Chair of the UIL Governing Board
Ms Malak ZAALOUK * ** (end of term 12/2019)

The American University in Cairo
Professor of Practice and Director of the Middle East Institute for Higher Education

Vice Chair of the UIL Governing Board
Ms Un Shil CHOI * ** (end of term 12/2020)
Professor, Ajou University, Graduate School of Education
Republic of Korea

Ms Sarah ANYANG AGBOR (end of term 12/2022)
Commissioner for Human Resources, Science and Technology African Union 
Mr Daniel BARIL (end of term 12/2022)
Director General of the Institute for Cooperation for Adult Education
Mr Jamlal BIN HUWAIREB (end of term 12/2022)
Chief Executive Officer
Mohamed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum Knowledge Foundation
United Arab Emirates

Ms Angela BROWN-BURKE (end of term 12/2019)
Senator Councillor and Chairman of Kingston and St. Andrew

Mr Hartwig LÜDTKE * (end of term 12/2020)
Vice-President of the German Commission for UNESCO
Federal Republic of Germany

Senior Programme Manager
Department for International organisations and Thematic support,
Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (Sida)

Mr Kilemi MWIRIA (end of term 12/2020)
Senior Advisor to the
President of Kenya on Education and Politics

Ms Sylvia ORTEGA SALAZAR ** (end of term 12/2019)
Former Under-Secretary for Upper Secondary Education
Ministry of Public Education

Mr Jin YANG (end of term 12/2021)
Minister Counsellor for Education
Embassy of the People’s Republic of China in France
Mr Thomas Boni YAYI (end of term 12/2019)
Former President of the Republic of Benin

* Member of the Standing Committee of the UIL Governing Board
** Member of the IRE Editorial Board

Login to
Governing Board