40TH SESSION - UNESCO GENERAL CONFERENCE DELEGATES INFORMATION BUREAU

NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE

Date	Tuesday 12 November 2019	Room	IV
Nº meeting	First meeting	Hour	From: 10 a.m. To: 10:45 a.m.
Chairperson(s)	Mr Mounir Anastas	Country	Palestine

SUMMARY OF DEBATE(S)

Items examined	Item 1.5 – Election of the President and Vice-Presidents of the General Conference and of the Chairpersons, Vice-Chairpersons and Rapporteurs of the commissions and committees				
Debate no	N/A	Debate status	Item 1.5 (Start)		
Related documents	40 C/NOM/7 Prov. 40 C/NOM/1 and Add.				
DRs examined	N/A				
Countries that took floor	Greece, Iceland, Lebanon				
Summary of debate	 The Chairperson of the Executive Board, Mr Byong Hyun Lee (Republic of Korea), opened the first meeting of the Nominations Committee and following the recommendation contained in decision 206 EX/Decision 27.IV, the Committee elected as its Chairperson Mr Mounir Anastas (Palestine). The Nominations Committee approved the constitution of its bureau with Cuba 				
	(Group III) and the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Group V (a)) as Vice-Chairpersons. 3. The Nominations Committee approved the recommendation of the Executive Board contained in decision 207 EX/Decision 27.III, to elect Mr Ahmet Altay Cengizer (Turkey) as President of the 40th session of the General Conference.				
	4. The Nominations Committee approved the recommendation of the Executive Board contained in decision 207 EX/Decision 27.III, as well as the recommendation received by the Secretariat from the Arab Group (Group V (b)), for the nominations of the Heads of Delegations of 34 Member States for the posts of Vice-Presidents of the 40th session of the General Conference. These Member States are as follows:				
	Australia Azerbaijan	Finland Hungary	Russian Federation Saint Lucia		

$\overline{}$		T	
	Bahrain	Iceland	Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
	Bangladesh	India	Serbia
	Benin	Iraq	Slovakia
	Brazil	Italy	Sweden
	Cameroon	Jamaica	Switzerland
	Canada	Japan	Tunisia
	China	Lithuania	Yemen
	Dominican Republic	Morocco	Zambia
	Egypt	Nigeria	
	El Salvador	Philippines	

5. Following the recommendations of the Executive Board, 206 EX/Decision 27.IV and 207 EX/Decision 27.III, the Nominations Committee nominated the following Chairpersons for the posts of Chairpersons of the 40th session of the General Conference:

ED Commission: Mr Shafqat Mahmood (Pakistan)
SC Commission: Mr Stephen Simukanga (Zambia)
SHS Commission: Ms Viviane Morales Hoyos (Colombia)
CLT Commission: Mr Abbas Salim Halabi (Lebanon)
CI Commission: Mr Christian Ter-Stepanian (Armenia)
APX Commission: Ms Maria Diamantopoulou (Greece)

Credentials Committee: Ms Denise Houphouët-Boigny (Côte d'Ivoire)

Legal Committee Mr Pierre Michel Eisemann (France)

DETAILS NEXT MEETING

Date	Wednesday, 13 November 2019	Room	Room IV
Nº meeting	Second meeting	Hour	From: 3 p.m. To: 4 p.m.
Items to be examined	Item 1.5 – Election of the President and Vice-Presidents of the General Conference and of the Chairpersons, Vice-Chairpersons and Rapporteurs of the commissions and committees Item 14.1 – Election of Members of the Executive Board Items 14.2 to 14.15 – Elections of members of Headquarters Committee, Legal Committee and other subsidiary organs of the General Conference		
Debate no	N/A	Debate status	Item 1.5 (continuation) Items 14.1; 14.2; 14.3; 14.4; 14.5; 14.6; 14.7; 14.8; 14.9; 14.10; 14.11; 14.12; 14.13; 14.14; and 14.15 (Start)
Related documents	40 C/NOM/1 and Add. 40 C/NOM/2 40 C/NOM/3 Rev. 40 C/NOM/4 40 C/NOM/5 40 C/NOM/6 and Corr. 40 C/NOM/INF.2		
DRs to be examined	N/A		