Show all / Hide all

South America

Brasil Mergulho is a public-at-large project encouraging the enjoyment of underwater heritage. It provides divers with inventories, databases and maps on shipwrecks off the Brazilian coast. It also offers valuable historic and legal information.

Canada

Shipwreck Investigations Database - The website provides a list of official reports on investigations of wrecks, listed in the Library and Archives of Canada.

European Initiatives

The NAVIS I and NAVIS II projects is a database of ancient naval archaeology, supported by the European Commission (Directorate General X – Information, Communication, Culture, Audiovisual Culture and Audiovisual Policy)

EU Atlas of the Sea is a database that brings Europe's maritime heritage straight to our computer screens. The atlas has a European focus and is available in English, French and German.

l’Atlas archéologique des 2 Mers is a collection of documentaries and archaeological data on underwater cultural heritage resting in the English Channel and the southern North Sea maintained by ADRAMAR. This group of professional archaeologists is endeavouring to promote archaeological research in France and abroad.

Nordic Countries

Nordic and Baltic wrecks & shipfinds - is database of shipwrecks located in Sweden, Danemark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and other parts of the Baltic and Northern Seas. 

 

France

Inventories of the DRASSM DRASSM - is the French Ministry of Culture’s wreck database and general archives. 

 

United States of America

Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary Shipwreck Database - The Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary has been working in partnership with the BRIDGE to provide information about important shipwrecks found within the 5 national marine sanctuaries (Channel Islands, Monterey Bay, Cordell Bank, Gulf of the Farallones and Olympic Coast) on the West Coast of the United States.

Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary Shipwreck database is a non-exhaustive list of vessels lost or damaged in a given area, with detailed descriptions of the vessels and the circumstances of their damaging or sinking.

Gulf of the Farallones National Marine Sanctuary and Cordell Banks National Marine Sanctuary Shipwreck databases

Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary Shipwreck database

MMS Shipwreck Database Alaska - The Minerals Management Service (MMS) is a bureau in the U.S. Department of the Interior, is the Federal US agency that manages natural gas, oil and other mineral resources on the outer continental shelf. Its shipwreck database provides a compilation of Alaska shipwrecks that have occurred from Russian times (1741) to the present.

California State Lands Commission – California Shipwrecks - The website contains articles about shipwrecks in California, pictures of artifacts, underwater videos and an online wreck database.

Wisconsin Shipwreck Databases - The US Wisconsin Maritime Trails program and the University of Wisconsin maintain databases of Wisconsin's historic shipwrecks.

Minnesota's Historic Shipwrecks - List of Minnesota's Lake-Superior-shipwrecks and other underwater archaeological sites maintained by the Minnesota Historical Society.
Underwater Historic Preserves, Vermont, New York - Small list of Lake Champlain shipwrecks offered by the Lake Champlain Maritime Museum, Vermont, USA

Florida's Underwater Archaeological Preserves - The Division of Historical Resources is within the Department of State, and is the state agency responsible for promoting the culture resources in Florida. It maintains a list of Florida’s eleven wrecks, designated as underwater reserves.

Underwater Historic Preserves, Vermont, New York - Small list of Lake Champlain shipwrecks offered by the Lake Champlain Maritime Museum, Vermont, USA

Norway

Norwegian Maritime Museum - The National Maritime Museum (NSM) in Oslo hosts the wreck register for Norway together with four regional museums, the NTNU, Trondheim, the Maritime Museum in Stavanger, the Maritime Museum in Bergen, and the Tromsø Museum at Tromsø University. Each of the museums is responsible for the wreck register of its region.

Ireland

Irish Wreck Database - a comprehensive database of over 14000 records of shipwrecks and anomalies around Ireland

 

 

Italy

Archeomar Project - The Italian Ministry of Culture coordinates a register of the underwater archaeological heritage in the southern Italian regions, in close collaboration with the Super-intendancies and the police forces. The principal aim of the project is to compile a registry, position and document the underwater archaeology of the Southern Italian regions of Campania, Puglia, Basilicata and Calabria. Its goal is to improve the management of the archaeological heritage. The project also aims at providing all the tools necessary to strengthen the administration of the sites.

Archeosub - Is a news bulletin and point of reference for anyone interested in submarine archaeology, with particular focus on the Adriatic Sea, Triveneto (includes three Italian regions:Veneto, Friuli Venezia Giulia and Trentino Alto Adige) and the cities Venice and Vicenza (in Italian).

 

Sweden

Swedish Maritime Museum's wreck register - National wreck registers of Sweden. Information is open to the public, but not yet fully transferred to the electronic database.

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

National Archives - The National Archives hold records of shipping losses, but refer to several other sources for more information on UK shipwrecks.

Global

The MACHU project (Managing Cultural Heritage Under Water) inventories major underwater heritage sites through a GIS based system. It offers: 

• site management information for researchers
• a public at large wreck page
• site erosion models
• relevant legislation

The project is in place for 7 European States, is continuously updated and can be extended to countries that do not yet participate. It contains archaeological and historical information on underwater sites and their environment (including geophysical, geochemical, sedimentological and oceanographic data) and identifies possible threats, including relevant human activities. The database offers full access for heritage managers and limited access for the general public. It offers also a site for scientific data-exchange and a decision-support system (DSS).

 

Wrecksite - This site contains the largest collection of data regarding ships. It contains information on 120.500 ships, 117.190 locations, 23.450 images, 1358 maritime maps, 23.280 owners and constructors and much more.

Australia

Australia National Shipwrecks database - Database of Australian shipwrecks maintained by the Government of Australia. It allows users to search for shipwrecks protected by the Commonwealth or a State/Territory legislation. The positions of many wrecks are unknown or estimated.

New South Wales - Maritime Heritage Online - Developed by the Heritage Branch, Department of Planning is the New South Wales (NSW) agency responsible for administering the historic shipwreck and relics provisions of the NSW Heritage Act, 1977. New South Wales maritime heritage includes Aboriginal sites, shipwrecks, aircraft, ports and harbours in a searchable database, featuring also maps, still images, video clips, archaeological survey reports and activity guides.

Western Australian Maritime Museum Shipwreck Database - The database of the Department of Maritime Archaeology at the Western Australian Maritime Museum gives information on Western Australian shipwrecks.

The Northern Territory Heritage Register is established under the NT Heritage Conservation Act and contains details about all declared heritage places and objects. It also includes details of interim conservation orders, conservation management plans and heritage agreements.

Tasmanian Shipwreck - In this site are listed eleven shipwrecks that have occurred in the waters surrounding Tasmania during the last two hundred years.