You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 13:47:53 Sep 26, 2020, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide
Pasar al contenido principal
  • International Task Force on Teachers for Education 2030
  • 2020
  • 826.69 KB
  • pdf
  • EN  |  FR

A review of the use of contract teachers in sub-Saharan Africa

Various types of contracted teachers are now active in national education systems around the world, even in high-income OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) countries. But the phenomenon has taken on more significant proportions in low-resource countries and particularly in sub-Saharan Africa. While teaching contracts were initially drawn up to meet teacher shortages in the post-independence period, they have been increasingly called upon to respond to larger student enrolments and lower pupil/teacher ratios under universal primary education (Kingdon, Aslam, Rawal, Das, 2012). As a result, the teaching corps in sub-Saharan Africa is now composed of individuals with a diverse range of profiles, qualifications, types of preparation and professionalization.

Yet in spite of the rapid rise in the number of contract teachers, and with up to 65% of teachers at primary level hired on a contract basis in some sub-Saharan African countries, relatively little research has been carried out on contracting practices enabling decision-makers and stakeholders to better understand their impact and make informed choices in relation to education policy. This study was a first step in filling this gap by documenting contract teacher practices across 23 countries in sub-Saharan Africa: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo (Brazzaville), Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, the Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Niger, Senegal, South Sudan, Sudan, Togo, Uganda and Zambia.