Cooperation between Saint Kitts and Nevis and UNESCO: facts and figures

- 1. UNESCO membership: since 26 October1983.
- 2. Membership on the Executive Board: twice: 2005-2009 and 2013-2017.
- Representative: Mr. Antonio Maynard, Secretary-General of the National Commission for UNESCO.
- 3. Membership on Intergovernmental Councils/Committees and/or Commissions: 1
- Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC).

4. Permanent Delegation to UNESCO:

- H. E. Mr David Doyle, Ambassador and Permanent Delegate to UNESCO and Honorary Consul to France presented his credentials to UNESCO on 21 April 2006 as Permanent Delegate and in September 2013 as Ambassador.
- 5. Saint Kitts and Nevis National Commission for UNESCO:
- Established in 1991.
- Chairperson (since January 2011): the Hon. Shawn Richards, Minister of Education.
- Secretary-General (since January 2004): Mr. Antonio Maynard.
- Structure of the Commission: Chairman, the Secretary-General as well as 6 Sub-Commission coordinators and 5 to 6 members per Sub-Commission. The Commission is composed of 30 members.
- UNESCO's contribution to the capacity building of the National Commission:
 Mr. Antonio Marcano Maynard, Secretary General, attended the Sub-Regional Seminar for Caribbean National Commissions and Cluster Consultation in Preparation for 2013 UNESCO's 37th General Conference, 21-23 May, 2013, Kingston, Jamaica.
- Participation in the DG's Consultations on C/4 and C/5: -Mr. Antonio Maynard, Secretary-General attended the Director-General's Consultation with National Commissions for UNESCO of Latin America and the Caribbean on the Preparation of the Draft Programme and Budget for 2014-2017 (37 C/5), 14-16/09/2012, Montevideo, Uruguay.
- Priority Areas: promotion of UNESCO's ideals through Participation Programme Projects, Special Projects i. e. Small Islands Voice, ASPnet, Radio and Television Programmes, Celebration of Special Days and Years.

6. UNESCO Cluster Office in Kingston:

- Director: Ms. Katherine Grisby (Nicaragua, D-1), since 1st August 2015
- 7. Prominent personalities having privileged relations with UNESCO (e.g. Goodwill Ambassadors, Special Envoys, Chairpersons of Committees, etc): none.
- 8. UNESCO Chair: none.
- 9. Associated Schools: none.
- **10. World Heritage Sites: 1** Brimstone Hill Fortress National Park (1999)
- 11. Tentative list: 2 sites
- City of Charlestown (Island of Nevis)
- Historic zone of Basseterre (Island of St. Kitts)

12. Intangible Cultural Heritage: none

13. Villes créatives : none

14. UNESCO's standard-setting instruments: 5

- Convention concerning the Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage. Paris, 16 November 1972, 10/07/1986, Acceptance
- International Convention against Doping in Sport. Paris, 19 October 2005, 14/04/2008, Ratification
- Convention on the Protection of the Underwater Cultural Heritage. Paris, 2 November 2001, 03/12/2009, Ratification
- Convention for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage. Paris, 17 October 2003, 15/04/2016, Ratification
- Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions.
 Paris, 20 October 2005, 26/04/2016, Ratification

15. Biosphere Reserves: 1.

• St. Mary's (2011)

16. Memory of the World Register: 2 inscriptions

 Registry of Slaves of the British Caribbean 1817-1834 (submitted by Bahamas, Belize, Dominica, Jamaica, St Kitts, Trinidad and Tobago and the United Kingdom in 1997).

17. Participation programme

- 2016-2017, 4 requests were approved for a total amount of US\$75.000.
- 2014-2015, 5 projects were approved for a total amount of US\$144.500.
- 18. UNESCO Fellowships Programme: none.
- 19. Payment of assessed membership fees in 2017: Paid in full
- Last payment: 3 March 2017
- Assessment rate: 0.001%.
- 20. Representation within the Secretariat (as of 25 October 2017): 2 normally represented (maximum: 4 and minimum 2). Professional Staff in Geographical Posts:
 - Professional Staff in Geographical Posts:
- 1 P-3
- 1 P-4
- 21. Celebration of anniversaries with which UNESCO is associated in 2014-2015 and 2016-2017: none.