UNESCO POLICY DIALOGUE ON ZOOM

#MemoryOfTheWorld #AudiovisualHeritageDay



Virtual Policy Dialogue on Documentary Heritage at Risk: **Policy Gaps in Digital Preservation**

27 October 2020

Programme

The Virtual Policy Dialogue (VPD) will be held **online** on <u>Tuesday</u>, <u>27 October 2020</u> in two sessions

8:00 - 10:00 CET (UTC+1) Session 1: **Session 2:** 17:00 – 19:00 CET (UTC+1)

Session 1	8:00-10:00 CET (UTC+1) Zoom
Host:	Ms Lai Tee Phang , Chair, Preservation Sub-Committee of the UNESCO MoW International Advisory Committee
8:00-8:10	VPD Introduction
	Ms Lai Tee Phang
8:10-8:15	Welcome remarks
	Mr Xing Qu, UNESCO Deputy Director-General
8:15-8:30	Keynote: Preservation policy landscape
	Mr David Fricker, President, International Council on Archives
Topic A	Cultural Identity at Risk
Moderator:	Ms Shubha Chaudhuri , Director of the Archives and Research Centre for Ethnomusicology, India
8:30-8:40	Missions Connect: Virtual Reality and Aboriginal heritage
	Ms Reena Tiwari, Professor of Built Environment, Curtin University, Australia
8:40-8:50	Dialogue contributors:
	Ms Te Paea Paringatai, University of Canterbury in Christchurch, New Zealand
	Mr Abdullah Al Hinai, Arab Federation for Libraries and Information
8:50-9:00	Questions from the audience
9:00-9:05	<u>Break</u>



Topic B Sustainability

Moderator: Mr Robert Buckley, Technical Adviser at the National Archives of the United Arab Emirates

9:05-9:15 **Sustainable, together!**

Mr Jeffrey van der Hoeven, National Library of the Netherlands

9:15-9:25 International partnerships at the British Library – Sustainable models for preserving

cultural heritage

Ms Marcie Hopkins, British Library, United Kingdom

9:25-9:40 Dialogue contributors:

Mr Gabriel Bunmi Alegbeleye, University of Ibadan, Nigeria

Ms Laila Hussein Moustafa, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, United States of

America

Team ANRI (Mr Adhie Gesit Pambudi, Mr Dhani Sugiharto and Mr Prasetyo Utomo),

National Archives of the Republic of Indonesia

9:40-9:50 Questions from the audience

9:50-10:00 **VPD Session 1 concluding remarks**

Ms Lai Tee Phang.

Session 2 17:00-19:00 CET (UCT+1) Zoom

Host: Ms Natasa Milic-Frayling, Preservation Sub-Committee of the UNESCO MoW

International Advisory Committee

17:00-17:10 Welcome and summary of VPD Session 1

Ms Natasa Milic-Frayling

<u>Topic C</u> **Technology**

Moderator: Mr Kevin Bradley, Assistant Director General, National Library of Australia

17:10-17:20 KAdKA Project: Grassroot digitalization effort

Mr Günther Cyranek and Mr Felix Gross, Archive Digitalization, Cyranek ICT4D, Germany

17:20-17:30 The Magnetic Tape Alert Project: Safeguarding the documents proper of cultural and

linguistic diversity

Mr Dietrich Schüller, Preservation Sub-Committee of the UNESCO MoW International

Advisory Committee

17:30-17:45 Dialogue contributors:

Ms Yolia Tortolero Cervantes, Independent Consultant, Mexico

Ms Amanda Harris, Director of the PARADISEC Sydney Unit, Sydney Conservatorium of

Music, Australia

Mr Frédéric Marie, President of FIAF, Director of the Cinémathèque Suisse, Switzerland

17:45-17:55 Questions from the audience

17:55-18:00 Break



Legal Frameworks Topic D Moderator: Ms Ingrid Parent, University Librarian Emerita, The University of British Columbia, Canada 18:00-18:10 Copying for good: A digital preservation perspective Mr Eric Chin, General Counsel, National Library Board, Singapore 18:10-18:20 Dialogue contributors: Ms Maria Soledad Abarca, Head of the Photographic and Audiovisual Collections National Library of Chile Mr Maximiliaan Scriwanek, Director of National Archives, Curação 18:20-18:30 Questions from the audience 18:30-18:55 Locknote: Preservation policy challenges Moderator: Mr Adam Farquhar, Partner at Digital Lifecycle Management, United Kingdom Ms Helen Vincent, Chair, IFLA Cultural Heritage Programme Advisory Committee, Member of the IFLA Governing Board Mr David Fricker, President, International Council on Archives Mr Fackson Banda, Chief, Documentary Heritage Unit (MoW), UNESCO 18:55-19:00 **VPD Concluding remarks** Ms Natasa Milic-Frayling.