You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 04:42:45 Dec 05, 2020, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

Building peace in the minds of men and women

Félix Houphouët-Boigny - UNESCO Peace Prize

The Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize is intended to honour living individuals and active public or private bodies or institutions that have made a significant contribution to promoting, seeking, safeguarding or maintaining peace, in conformity with the Charter of the United Nations and the Constitution of UNESCO.

The Prize was established in 1989 by a resolution supported by 120 countries and adopted by the General Conference of UNESCO at its 25th session. It is in line with the philosophy of UNESCO’s founders who, in the preamble to the Organization’s Constitution, solemnly declare that: “Since wars begin in the minds of men, it is in the minds of men that the defences of peace must be constructed.”

In establishing this Prize, the General Conference of UNESCO wanted to reaffirm its commitment to peace and dialogue between cultures and civilizations. It desired to endow itself with a significant instrument so as to encourage and honour all those who contribute to bringing about a world of greater mutual support and human fellowship.

The Jury

In order to implement the resolution instituting the Félix Houphouët-Boigny Peace Prize the Director-General called on international public figures who are reputed for their action on behalf of peace in the fields in which they have pursued their careers. Among them are statesmen, scholars, jurists, diplomats and human rights activists who have distinguished themselves through their attachment to the ideals of the United Nations Charter and the Constitution of UNESCO and who have agreed to give the Prize the benefit of their knowledge and prestige.

Michel Camessus

Michel Camdessus

Born in 1933, he was Director of the Treasury, Governor of the Banque de France, Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund. read more

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf

24th president of Liberia and first woman elected head of state in Africa.
Nobel Peace Prize winner 2011 read more

Son Altesse royale la Princesse Sumaya Bint El Hassan

Her Royal Higness Princess Sumaya Bint El Hassan

Designated in 2017 UNESCO Special Envoy for Science for Peace. read more

Muhammad Yunus

Muhammad Yunus

Winner of the Nobel Peace Prize in 2006, father of social business and microcredit, founder of more than 50 other companies in Bangladesh. read more

Francois Hollande, © M. Benoit Granier

Francois Hollande

Magistrate at the Court of Auditors, he was elected deputy in 1988. Candidate of the PS, he was elected head of state in 2012. read more

Forest Whitaker

Forest Whitaker

American actor, producer and director. read more

The Laureates since 1991

Giuseppina Maria NicoliniGiuseppina Maria Nicolini
Former Mayor of Lampedusa
Laureate 2017
SOS MediterranéeSOS Mediterranée
Laureate 2017
Francois HollandeFrançois Hollande
President of the French Republic
Laureat 2013
Luiz Inácio Lula da SilvaLuiz Inácio Lula da Silva
President of Brasil
Laureate 2008
Martti AhtisaariMartti Ahtisaari
President of Finland
Laureate 2007
Abdoulaye WadeAbdoulaye Wade
President of the Republic of Senegal
Laureate 2005
Mustafa CerićMustafa Cerić
Grand Mufti of Bosnia
Laureate 2003
Cardinal Roger EtchegarayCardinal Roger Etchegaray
President Emeritus of the Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace
Laureate 2003
Kay Rala Xanana GusmãoKay Rala Xanana Gusmão
President of Timor-Leste Republic
Laureate 2002
Mary RobinsonMary Robinson
United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights
Laureate 2000

Sheikh HasinaSheikh Hasina
Prime Minister of the People's Republic of Bangladesh
Laureate 1998
George J. MitchellGeorge J. Mitchell
American Senator
Laureate 1998
Fidel V. RamosFidel V. Ramos
President of the Republic of the Philippines
Laureate 1997
Nur MisuariNur Misuari
President of the Moro National Liberation Front
Laureate 1997
Alvaro Arzú IrigoyenAlvaro Arzú Irigoyen
President of the Republic of Guatemala
Rolando MoránRolando Morán
Representative of the Guatemalan Revolutionary Union
Laureate 1996
Sadako OgataSadako Ogata
United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
Laureate 1995
Laureate 1995
S. M. Juan Carlos IS. M. Juan Carlos I
King of Spain
Laureate 1994
Jimmy CarterJimmy Carter
President of the United States of America
Laureate 1994
Yasser ArafatYasser Arafat
Laureate 1993
Yitzhak RabinYitzhak Rabin
Shimon PeresShimon Peres
Nelson MandelaNelson Mandela
Laureate 1991
Frederik W. De KlerkFrederik W. De Klerk
Laureate 1991


L'ex-maire de Lampedusa poursuit son combat en faveur des migrantsFormer mayor of Lampedusa continues her fight for migrants
Cérémonie de remise du Prix2017 Award Ceremony of the Félix Houphouët-Boigny Prize