You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 23:26:26 Sep 24, 2021, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

UNESCO/Jikji Memory of the World Prize call for nominations


UNESCO is now receiving nominations for the 8th edition of  the UNESCO/Jikji Memory of the World Prize. Member States, in consultation with their National Commissions, as well as international non-governmental organizations (NGOs) maintaining official relations with UNESCO and whose work is in the field of preservation and conservation of documentary heritage are thus encouraged to submit their nominations no later than 30 April 2020.

Full  information is provided in the Guidelines for Nominations and Adjudicators. Each nomination must emphasize:

  • the impact of the candidate’s contribution to the preservation and accessibility of documentary heritage, through activities piloted and developed, innovations, leadership, publications, etc.; and
  • any unusual difficulties which the candidate has had to overcome in undertaking preservation and access work in the area of documentary heritage.

The Prize was created to commemorate the inscription of the Buljo jikji simche yojeol – the oldest known book of moveable metal print in the world – on the Memory of the World International Register. As such, it has become an important symbol of the Memory of the World Programme’s efforts to support the preservation and accessibility of documentary heritage as a common heritage of humanity.

The Prize is funded by the Republic of Korea through arrangements made with the Municipal Council of Cheongju City. Consisting of US $30,000, the award is given every two years in order to honour individuals or institutions that have made significant contributions to the preservation and accessibility of documentary heritage.

Nominations should be submitted in either English or French by completing the nomination form and sending it, no later than 30 April 2020, to:

Mr Fackson Banda

Head, Documentary Heritage Unit (Memory of the World), Communication and Information Sector, UNESCO
7 place de Fontenoy, 75732 Paris Cedex 15
Tel : +
Email : f.banda@unesco.org (link sends e-mail) and mowsecretariat@unesco.org