UNESCO Headquarters flags buildings

Strategic Management Council

Ms. Audrey Azoulay | Director-General

The General Conference of UNESCO, at its 41st session, has elected Ms Audrey Azoulay for a second mandate as Director-General of the Organization.

Audrey Azoulay

Mr Xing Qu | Deputy Director-General - DDG

Born in 1956, Mr Qu holds a PhD in Political Science from the Paris Institute of Political Studies (IEP) (1992)

Mr Qu served as Assistant President of CFAU where he was responsible for the organization of teaching at the University.
He was Permanent Representative of China to the International Exhibitions Bureau (BIE) at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of China, where he managed Chinese cooperation with BIE and coordinated preparations for the World Expo2010 Shanghai China (Expo 2010). At the same time, as Deputy Chief of Mission, Mr Qu served as Minister at the Chinese Embassy in France. He was responsible for bilateral affairs and administration of the internal functioning of the Embassy. He also supervised the Permanent Delegation of the People's Republic of China to UNESCO.

Ms. Stefania Giannini

Assistant Director-General for Education ADG/ED

Ms. Shamila Nair-Bedouelle

ADG for the Natural Sciences - ADG/SC

Ms. Gabriela Ramos

ADG for the Social and Human Sciences - ADG/SHS

Mr Ernesto Renato Ottone Ramirez

Assistant Director-General for Culture - ADG/CLT

Mr. Tawfik Jelassi

ADG for Communication and Information - ADG/CI

Mr Vladimir Ryabinin

Executive Secretary of IOC - ADG/IOC

Mr. Firmin Edouard Matoko

ADG for Priority Africa and External Relations - ADG/PAX

Mr. Nicholas Jeffreys

ADG for Administration and Management - ADG/ADM

Mr. Nicolas Kassianides

Chief of Staff, Office of the Director-General - DIR/CAB

Ms. Jamila Seftaoui

Director of the Division for Gender Equality - DIR/ODG/GE

Mr. Jean Yves Le Saux

Director of the Bureau of Strategic Planning - DIR/BSP

Mr. Santiago Villalpando


Mr. Bernardin Assiene

Director of the Internal Oversight Service - DIR/IOS