You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 13:58:04 Mar 16, 2022, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

Take advantage of the search to browse through the World Heritage Centre information.

45th session of the World Heritage Committee

Kazan, Russian Federation (as per Decision 44 COM 16 of the World Heritage Committee, 2021) 19-30 June 2022

Historic and Architectural Complex of the Kazan Kremlin
© Official Tourism Portal of the Republic of Tatarstan - visit-tatarstan.com

 In view of the many questions being addressed to UNESCO concerning the 45th session of the World Heritage Committee scheduled to take place in Kazan (Russian Federation) from 19 to 30 June 2022, the procedural elements are hereby clarified:

  • The 194 States Parties to the World Heritage Convention are represented by 21 Member States elected in the General Assembly. These 21 Member States compose the World Heritage Committee.
  • As stipulated in the Rules of Procedure, the World Heritage Committee itself determines, at each session, the date and place of its next session.
  • As such, the decision by the Member States of the World Heritage Committee to hold the 45th session of the Committee in Kazan was taken at the 44th session of the Committee, in July 2021, following the invitation by the Russian Federation.
  • A change of location of the 45th session can be decided at this stage by the Member States of the World Heritage Committee in the governance bodies dedicated to this Committee.
  • This decision can thus be taken in two ways:
    1. either by the 21 Member States of the Committee, meeting in extraordinary session at the request of two-thirds of its members, who would take the decision by consensus or by a simple majority vote;
    2. or by the States members of the Bureau of the Committee who would take the decision at a dedicated meeting.
  • The list of States members of the World Heritage Committee and Bureau is available at the following link: whc.unesco.org/en/committee/
Bureau Members

Chairperson: H.E. Mr. Alexander Kuznetsov (Russian Federation)
Ms. Shikha Jain (India)
Argentina, Italy, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Thailand

Committee Members
Mandate End of
Argentina 2021-2025 2025
Belgium 2021-2025 2025
Bulgaria 2021-2025 2025
Egypt 2019-2023 2023
Ethiopia 2019-2023 2023
Greece 2021-2025 2025
India 2021-2025 2025
Italy 2021-2025 2025
Japan 2021-2025 2025
Mali 2019-2023 2023
Mexico 2021-2025 2025
Nigeria 2019-2023 2023
Oman 2019-2023 2023
Qatar 2021-2025 2025
Russian Federation 2019-2023 2023
Rwanda 2021-2025 2025
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines 2021-2025 2025
Saudi Arabia 2019-2023 2023
South Africa 2019-2023 2023
Thailand 2019-2023 2023
Zambia 2021-2025 2025