You are viewing an archived web page, collected at the request of United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) using Archive-It. This page was captured on 03:27:34 Mar 17, 2022, and is part of the UNESCO collection. The information on this web page may be out of date. See All versions of this archived page.
Loading media information hide

UNESCO and Al Fozan Foundation create new Prize to support young scientists

17 - Partnerships for the Goals

Today, UNESCO's Executive Board approved the creation of a new prize to promote the achievements of young people that are conducive to socio-economic transformation and development on a global scale. UNESCO and the Al Fozan Foundation share the belief that young people must play an essential role in in building resilient and inclusive future societies, and as a result they have established this award in order to support young talents, at an early stage of their careers, and to encourage them to continue their work, while strengthening research, education and cooperation in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM).

The UNESCO-Al Fozan International Prize for the Promotion of Young Scientists in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) will be awarded every two years, starting in 2022, to five laureates from the five geographic regions of UNESCO. It will nurture and encourage youth participation in STEM, in particular women and girls, so as to promote gender equality, scientific literacy and the choice of a scientific career. The Prize consists of an award of US $ 50,000 for each of the five laureates, who will also receive a medal and a diploma.

The UNESCO-Al Fozan International Prize for the Promotion of Young Scientists in STEM will foster collaboration, advancement and popularization of science and international cooperation to advance scientific expertise globally and meet the needs of young scientists in countries that are lagging behind in science and technology.


Photo: Brookhaven National Laboratory (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)